Discussion Forums  >  Config Data, JSON, App Refresh

Replies: 9    Views: 180

Nelson
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 57
Reg: Jun 06, 2013
Viseu
2,220
11/13/14 06:52 AM (4 years ago)

Update refresh every time the app launch

Is it possible to forced update/refresh every time the app startup?
Like an autorefresh every time the app is launch.
Is there some code for doing that?
 
Higgey
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 380
Reg: Sep 07, 2011
West Midlands
13,400
like
11/13/14 07:24 AM (4 years ago)
My coding is very dodgy so please backup your app before trying this:

1. Go to BT_base_activity.java.Expand by clicking on plus.

2. Find confirmRefresh().Click on it.

3. Where it says confirmRefreshAlert.show(); Replace it with refreshAppData();

4. To change the loading text go to res>values>strings And find "loading title" string. Click on loading Title String.

As I say, please make sure you can put your app to how it was before you try this.
 
Nelson
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 57
Reg: Jun 06, 2013
Viseu
2,220
like
11/13/14 07:39 AM (4 years ago)
I am working on IOS.
Is this for IOS or Abdroid?
 
Higgey
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 380
Reg: Sep 07, 2011
West Midlands
13,400
like
11/13/14 07:54 AM (4 years ago)
That's android - have a look in your iOS folders for something very similar.
 
Caslor
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 191
Reg: Jul 26, 2013
athens
1,910
like
11/13/14 12:11 PM (4 years ago)
why you want to do that?

you must consider that something like that will be very annoyed for your users .
every time wait the app to refresh even it was not necessary .

Buzztouch (i think you know it that allready) has by default the option that every time you make changes in your BT apps control panel and publish the changes , then next time user start you app in the phone the app will see that there are changes and will try to update
 
Higgey
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 380
Reg: Sep 07, 2011
West Midlands
13,400
like
11/13/14 12:29 PM (4 years ago)
You're right, Casior.
 
Nelson
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 57
Reg: Jun 06, 2013
Viseu
2,220
like
11/13/14 01:14 PM (4 years ago)
I'm not getting there. I switched the [modifiedAlert show]; by [refreshAppData self];.
I changed the "CurrentMode": to "Live".
but when I make a change in BT Apps control panel and publish changes, the app dont assumes the new change. I restart the app several times but nothing changes. Change only happens when I click on refresh.
This app will likely have daily changes. I need to be sure and the user has the correct information.
I think the [refreshAppData self] is not working well.
 
Higgey
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 380
Reg: Sep 07, 2011
West Midlands
13,400
like
11/13/14 01:47 PM (4 years ago)
Any chance you could link to a webpage for the information that updates regularly until you can get this sorted?
 
Nelson
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 57
Reg: Jun 06, 2013
Viseu
2,220
like
11/13/14 02:01 PM (4 years ago)
In this case no. It is an image of a button on the homepage. this button has an image URL and needs to be changed daily. The app is not published is still under construction. But it is an aspect that is really important.
 
CMCOFFEE
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 2017
Reg: Jan 04, 2013
Amarillo, Texas
26,670
like
11/13/14 05:30 PM (4 years ago)
Hey David Book showed us a way to have ios app show the change in real time at a Buzztouch developer meeting awhile ago. Im thinking it would be in the webinars section
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.