Discussion Forums  >  BT.com Website, Account Questions

Replies: 18    Views: 194

maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
11/08/14 08:20 PM (5 years ago)

Interactive Quiz/ BT.com control issue

I know this has been mentioned before but curious if there is a chance of updating the BT.com control panel.

I hit 300 questions and questions beyond this do not show up in the page.

Any way it can be extended this to at least 1000?

Thanks!
 
nadthevlad
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1025
Reg: Jun 07, 2012
Denver
21,850
like
11/08/14 10:08 PM (5 years ago)
You can use a JSON formated .txt file and add your questions to the quiz via the
'Screen Data URL'
section of the plugin.

If you don't want host the file you can use Stobe's instructions here for making the quiz read the file locally from the idevice.
http://idevdepot.com/?s=quiz&x=0&y=0
 
nadthevlad
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1025
Reg: Jun 07, 2012
Denver
21,850
like
11/08/14 10:09 PM (5 years ago)
There is also this.
http://idevdepot.com/category/buzztouch-tutorials/stobes-buzztouch-tools/quizmaker-tool/

And I think smugwimp may have a tool for making the quiz file too.
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/09/14 01:45 AM (5 years ago)
This thread should also help. I eventually progressed to using excel.

https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=882E7283BB428B9C6547948
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/09/14 08:12 AM (5 years ago)
Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate the help. :)

Maybe its just me, but this seems overcomplicated for only being limited to 300 viewable questions on BT.com. Not complaining about the site but just saying. :)
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/09/14 09:17 AM (5 years ago)
I hear what you are saying and you can see from the thread above that I was in the same boat. But once you have csv file set up you are rocking. It is quicker to update than the BT CP and offers more flexibility if your question pool gets really big.
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/09/14 11:25 AM (5 years ago)
Quick question. When you create questions/answers in the BT control panel, are they saved in the config.txt file right?
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/09/14 11:44 AM (5 years ago)
They are.
 
Slav
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 37
Reg: Sep 09, 2013
Toronto
370
like
11/09/14 12:33 PM (5 years ago)
The same kind of limit of 300 items is also for Checklist plugin by chris1 (and I guess for all other plugins).

I wanted to make Checklist one of my key features of an app andi it was quite dissapointing to find out it's not that easy to do ( I needed about 400 points).

When I asked Chris he said it's up to BT management to place these limits and as direct users of BT system should try to persuade head office to once in awhile make certain adjustments in order to make our interaction with the system easier if not more enjoyable.
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/09/14 01:05 PM (5 years ago)
krompa,

So any changes to the config.txt in Xcode will update the app in regards to adding/deleting/editing questions?

Slav,
Thanks for the info. I hope they will consider such changes. :)
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/09/14 02:04 PM (5 years ago)
Speaking from an Android perspective (as this is all I know), if your app is released in 'live' mode (as opposed to design mode) then the CP overrides the BTconfig file. So whilst you can make changes to the config file in xcode/eclipse these changes will be overridden by what is in your CP. I would have thought the vast majority of BTers release their apps in live mode to allow updates from the CP without having to resubmit their app to apple/Google as this is one of the key benefits of using BT.

If u prefer not to make use of a csv spreadsheet but are willing to add more questions, then I would recommend following AlanMac's suggestion in the thread I posted. He suggests the more straightforward method of storing your questions in a .txt file in your CP docs and pointing to the URL of the .txt file. This way you can view and edit all of your questions whilst keeping the ability to update your app from the CP. Let me know if u need help on how to do this. It really is the best method if u don't want to down the spreadsheet route and it is simple to achieve.
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/09/14 07:23 PM (5 years ago)
krompa,

Can you give a rundown on the txt doc option.


How should the doc start?

Do I need to delete the questions in BT control panel?
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/10/14 03:54 AM (5 years ago)
ok, firstly create a .txt file containing your questions so it looks like this example:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4wtmlu38qd98nl8/quizexample.txt?dl=0

[note the last question has no comma at the end]

Save the .txt file in your App's 'Files' section in the Control Panel.

Grab the url of this .txt file (by clicking on it and copying from url from the address bar at top of screen).

Paste the url into the Screen Data URL section of the quiz screen in the control panel.

I did delete the questions in the BT control panel, but clearly, make sure you have a back-up of your questions first.
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/10/14 04:10 AM (5 years ago)
Slav - I haven't seen or used the Checklist plugin. Does it support a URL link similar to the interactive quiz? If so, then the process would be the same as above. If not, you may consider asking Chris1 to support this feature as a workaround to the 300 limit.
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/10/14 08:46 AM (5 years ago)
krompa,

I followed the steps and when it goes to use the .txt I'm getting a "There is a problem parsing some of the JSON data. Please make sure it is well-formed."

Running the text doc through JSOn validator is saying "Array size is not a small enough positive integer."

Any ideas?
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/10/14 09:11 AM (5 years ago)
do you want to forward it to me via PM and I can take a look?
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/10/14 09:44 AM (5 years ago)
Nevermind! Was a piece of code that didn't belong that was causing the issue. Seems to be working fine now.

Quick question though. When I compile the finished app will the questions be part of the app or will users have to download the questions when they open the app?

Thanks so much!
 
krompa
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 257
Reg: Jun 14, 2013
Bristol
8,820
like
11/10/14 09:56 AM (5 years ago)
For the android version - the questions download automatically when the player presses "Play Quiz" or whatever your menu item is that leads to the quiz. It only happens the first time they play, and the questions are then stored on the device.

There will be a slight delay (1 or 2 seconds) in between pressing play and before the 3,2,1 countdown section.
 
maverick96
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 174
Reg: Jan 22, 2014
Orlando
3,390
like
11/10/14 10:43 AM (5 years ago)
ok. Thank you again!
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.