Discussion Forums  >  Crashes, Memory Warnings

Replies: 20    Views: 205

Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
01/09/14 09:20 PM (5 years ago)

Custom Url Plugin Error

hello friends

from last two days m finding very strange problem like never before while i am trying to access custom url plugin from the main menu list.

it's 403 forbidden error

here is screenshot of the error m facing.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/p160x160/1530588_603004203099924_1036119015_n.jpg

Is there anybody here who can solve this issue? help will be really appreciated.
 
Jlentriken
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 246
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Palm Beach, Gol...
12,110
like
01/09/14 10:20 PM (5 years ago)
try and access it from your list of all screens you have in the app.
I had the same problem with the alert view plugin.

Major pain!!

Hope the workaround works for you too.

Jeremy
 
Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
like
01/10/14 12:02 AM (5 years ago)
Really appreciate your help buddy thanks a lot.
when m trying to access it from the list of all screen as you suggested then i can access but can not able to insert any url.
it showing following error after entering url into Document web Address(URL)

Not Saved!
{"result":"error", "errors":"nickname
already in use, no duplicates
allowed"}
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/10/14 07:10 AM (5 years ago)
It's a known error. Change the nickname and you should be able to save.
 
Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
like
01/10/14 07:33 AM (5 years ago)
i knw it's know error my friend. but unfortunately it's not working even after changing that nick name.
this time it's really not working anything.
i think custom url plugin is totally crashed. you can check it by trying custom url yourself. m sure you will find the same error.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/10/14 08:15 AM (5 years ago)
I just tried it on one of my buzztouch.com apps, and it worked perfectly. That error isn't related to any individual plugin.
 
Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
like
01/10/14 09:22 AM (5 years ago)
you mean you are not facing any error while using custom url plugin? are you sure my friend?
i hope you have tried it recently because it's a recent error.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/10/14 09:52 AM (5 years ago)
I literally tried it right before making my last post. I created a new screen using the Custom URL plugin, went in and changed the URL and saved. Then I exited out of the screen, went back in and changed it again, and saved again.
 
Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
like
01/10/14 10:08 AM (5 years ago)
on than why i am not able to do that? i have tried everything but again and again facing same error.

you know i am using buzztouch from over year ago but never faced any error like this before. :/

if you are admin than please check my account and see whats wrong with it.
thanks
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/10/14 11:08 AM (5 years ago)
I just checked your "Speed of Light" app, with the "Follow us on fb" screen. I tried saving the URL and it gave me the error. I then changed the nickname to "followUs" and it let me save just fine.
 
Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2937
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,870
like
01/10/14 06:25 PM (5 years ago)
Dear Prince,

Your shine would be bright with a Member badge! :-)
 
Prince apps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 121
Reg: Nov 23, 2012
Mumbai
1,210
like
01/10/14 09:55 PM (5 years ago)
@chris what is the reason behind it???. should i has to change all the nick name?
why this happening??? can you please explain me sir?

thanks before
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/10/14 10:12 PM (5 years ago)
It's an error we're working on behind the scenes. You did nothing wrong
 
Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2937
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,870
like
01/10/14 10:20 PM (5 years ago)
Chris -- we need a wiki or post on "we fixed this, working on this".

Otherwise, how will these kind folks know when it's safe to swim again in these waters?

Thanks for all the hard work, you've been very diligent in answering many of the posts. I love the new plugin market, your reaction time is light speed! :-)

-- Niraj
 
1taly85
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 9
Reg: Sep 29, 2013
Camarillo
90
like
01/16/14 03:24 PM (5 years ago)
have there been any updates on the custom url error?
 
Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2937
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,870
like
01/16/14 10:40 PM (5 years ago)
Camarillo?! Hopefully, you know about the Buzzday in San Diego on Saturday, Jan 25, 2014.

It is a free gathering of Buzztouch people, including David Book the Founder and Susan Metoxen, the steward of the Plugin Developers.
 
AlmaR
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 73
Reg: Jun 13, 2011
location unknow...
5,630
like
01/19/14 10:23 AM (5 years ago)
I am having the same issue and was able to fix it using @Jlentriken recommendation. The problem now is that I cannot turn off/on ads from that screen if I access it from my list of all screens. Any ideas?
 
Jlentriken
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 246
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Palm Beach, Gol...
12,110
like
01/19/14 11:05 AM (5 years ago)
Glad it worked for you too.

Try adding this into your screens JSON maybe?

"includeAds":"0" to disable ads
"includeAds":"1" to enable ads

Jeremy
 
AlmaR
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 73
Reg: Jun 13, 2011
location unknow...
5,630
like
01/19/14 12:21 PM (5 years ago)
Works like a charm! Thanks Jeremy!
 
Jlentriken
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 246
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Palm Beach, Gol...
12,110
like
01/19/14 01:17 PM (5 years ago)
Not a problem.

Glad I could help.

JSON has made my life much easier since I learned how it all works.

Good luck with your app.

Jeremy
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
01/19/14 04:59 PM (5 years ago)
Plugin has been updated to bring this back
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.