Discussion Forums  >  Status Bar, Navigation Bar

Replies: 8    Views: 312

Marco73
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 3
Reg: Nov 02, 2011
Bologna
2,730
09/06/13 01:34 AM (7 years ago)

How to create a context menu?

Hi everyone,
I have some issues in trying to create a context menu.
If I choose select in Top navigation bar - Context menu, it says I have no menu.
I tried to create a simple menu page, but I think this is not the way.
Can you tell me how I can create this kind of menu?
Thank you
 
epicweb
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 159
Reg: Aug 30, 2012
Glen Carbon
4,990
like
09/06/13 09:26 AM (7 years ago)
if you're using IOS I don't think its implemented into the code by Buzztouch yet. Its in the 2.1.9 self hosted control panel but no one has gotten it to show up on IOS. I have seen others on the forum say it works in android.
 
LA
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3270
Reg: Aug 16, 2012
Jerseyville, IL
42,800
like
09/06/13 10:04 AM (7 years ago)
I haven't been able to get this to work with Android.



LA
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3860
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
50,100
like
09/06/13 01:27 PM (7 years ago)
Would need to know if you're trying to do this on iOS or Android. If Android, are you working with the new Android Core (3.0)? If so, it's really easy.
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
09/06/13 03:49 PM (7 years ago)
It works fine in Android 3.0, and is not implemented (yet) in iOS.

Without having heard anything 'official', I 'suspect' that Pre-3 android will not be updated, but iOS will. Give David some time; there's a lot of adjustments to be made while he's finishing up the Android update.

Cheers!

-- Smug
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
09/07/13 12:55 AM (7 years ago)
Yup...as Smug says...pre-3.0 (the older android project) will NOT get the context menu option. Why? Because the older android project, built for older devices, does not use an Android Action Bar. Action bars expose menu items for each plugin. Not all plugins use menu items but can if they want. Either way, context menu items are added to the Action Bar menu "under" the plugins standard menu items (that the developer created when making the plugin).

The next iOS project (after iOS 7 comes out) will include a context menu option. It will appear as a menu-icon in the top right of the screen. If you use a Right Button Type, AND a contextMenu you'll have two button on the right of the top nav bar. One for the right button action and one to expose the context menu.

The idea is to evolve this menu logic for awhile and then use it for other purposes later. Lots and lots of things can be done by organizing menus and items this way. Think images and other ways to spruce up a menu. Example: Why can't these context menus get automagically applied to a Button Screen or a Menu List screen? Smug will know exactly what I'm referring to here. Making a menu list, use the items from a context menu. Oops, changed your mind, switch it to a menu list advanced with the same items. Or, make it buttons. Lots of neato things are coming but it's always baby-baby-baby-steps. Like they say, 9 women can't make a baby in a month! Ha.
 
WolfTimJ
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 804
Reg: Feb 20, 2011
Rockwall, TX
17,340
like
09/07/13 06:20 AM (7 years ago)
Dave,

That might be true but I double-dog-dare you to tell a room full of nine women that they can't do something.

I dare you.

Tim
 
Jlentriken
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 246
Reg: Dec 26, 2012
Palm Beach, Gol...
12,110
like
11/27/13 04:34 AM (6 years ago)
Are context menus working for iOS now?
I can't seem to make it work.

Thanks,

Jeremy
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
11/27/13 04:24 PM (6 years ago)
I haven't tried it, but in the meeting this morning it was said that it should be working now.

Cheers!

-- Smug
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.