Discussion Forums  >  WebViews and HTML for Mobile

Replies: 20    Views: 310

Akshay
I hate code!
Reg: Mar 07, 2013
Pune ,India
12/05/13 11:05 AM (10 years ago)

is it legal...

is it legal to have a link to ANY website/webpage from your app..(custom url plug in)without permission . akshay

KozmoWeb
Aspiring developer
Reg: Dec 08, 2012
Sarasota, FL
12/05/13 11:26 AM (10 years ago)
No cut and dry answer for this, and I am not a lawyer (As the cool kids say: IANAL), but sure it's legal. Hyperlinks is how the internet works. However... There is a point where this becomes wrong. Theoretically you could recreate someone's entire website in this manner without their permission and make an app version of their site. At some point this becomes theft of intellectual property, which is illegal. Also, throw in copyright and trademark infringement as well. From the other side, I'm sure there are bunches of businesses that are listed in app business directories that have no idea that they're there. I'm sure most of these businesses don't mind that they're in there, but there's a line that can get crossed.

Worker73
Android Fan
Reg: Feb 06, 2012
Austria, Klagen...
12/05/13 11:27 AM (10 years ago)