Discussion Forums  >  Status Bar, Navigation Bar

Replies: 9    Views: 962

ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
06/20/13 03:33 AM (7 years ago)

No text on the tab bar - just icons

Hi All,
I've searched the forums and couldn't find a solution!

Is there a way to have just icons in the tab bar and no text at all?

cheers
Darrel
 
Bonzo
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 762
Reg: Jan 30, 2012
Hampshire, ENGL...
13,320
like
06/20/13 03:40 AM (7 years ago)
under the laout section, and the tabbed layout section. just remove anything thats typed into 'Label' and just leave the icon name.

That should do it?
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
06/20/13 03:42 AM (7 years ago)
Thanks @Bonzo,
But it comes up with some generic text (which I can't remember at the moment!) Something like "no label" or such text. I tried adding a space or 2 but no luck.
 
Bonzo
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 762
Reg: Jan 30, 2012
Hampshire, ENGL...
13,320
like
06/20/13 04:00 AM (7 years ago)
i only work with xcode, so hopefully you are also.

in BT_application.m

search for //initialize a navigation controller using the view controller

comment out the following line

[thisTabsNavController.tabBarItem setTitle:textLabel];

so it should look like this
//[thisTabsNavController.tabBarItem setTitle:textLabel];

let me know if this works...
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
06/20/13 04:10 AM (7 years ago)
Thanks ... I'll give it a go. Much appreciated :)
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
06/20/13 04:40 AM (7 years ago)
No code mod required, works for Android and iOS:

control + space is a 'hard' space, and will suffice.

Cheers!

-- Smug
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
06/20/13 04:58 AM (7 years ago)
Thanks guys ... I was thinking non-breaking space   and thought that I had read it some where on the forums but couldn't find it.

Good stuff! Buzztouch forums to the rescue again :))

I'll look into the code from @bonzo for increasing the image size of the icon in the tab bar as well.

Cheers
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
06/20/13 05:07 AM (7 years ago)
That worked ... I used option(alt) space.

Now who knows how to change the tint color? Back to the BT knowledge bank (forums & users!)

Cheers
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
06/20/13 05:40 AM (7 years ago)
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
06/20/13 04:43 PM (7 years ago)
Thanks again smug. Another great piece of information!
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.