Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 37    Views: 277

FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
07/09/17 03:17 AM (6 years ago)

errors in studio

HI guys, im just starting in studio, as i couldn't get it to work before due to all the errors, so i thought i would wait till some of the bugs have been fixed, im getting these errors on run. Error:(170, 43) error: cannot find symbol variable layout Error:(220, 70) error: cannot find symbol variable tableButtonLayout Error:(226, 87) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageContainer Error:(236, 66) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageView Error:Execution failed for task ':app:compileDebugJavaWithJavac'. > Compilation failed; see the compiler error output for details. on these lines View thisScreensView = inflater.inflate(layout.amg_screen_menubuttons, container, false); tableButtonLayout = (TableLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.tableButtonLayout); LinearLayout headerImageContainer = (LinearLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.headerImageContainer); headerImageView = (ImageView) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.headerImageView); Thanks Sean
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
like
07/09/17 05:53 AM (6 years ago)
I just made a small change - see if that helps. If not, report it to the bug reporting page and link to your app's dataUrl so I can take a closer look.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/09/17 09:06 AM (6 years ago)
Thanks Chris, ive made sure to only use 1 external plugin, which is amg buttons and thats been updated for android 4, do i download new binary and reinstall everything, i started this project literally an hour before i posted. Thanks Sean
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/10/17 01:46 AM (6 years ago)
hi guys, ive re downloaded project and started fresh, still getting these errors Error:(236, 66) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageView Error:(226, 87) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageContainer Error:(220, 70) error: cannot find symbol variable tableButtonLayout Error:(170, 51) error: cannot find symbol variable amg_screen_menubuttons all the errors are in AMG_ButtonsPlus.java, do i need to drag this into a folder or anything, All the errors are in this section of the java file View thisScreensView = inflater.inflate(R.layout.amg_screen_menubuttons, container, false); if (lockPortrait) getActivity().setRequestedOrientation(ActivityInfo.SCREEN_ORIENTATION_PORTRAIT); // lock to portrait if (lockPortrait) Log.d("BuzT", "* * Portrait Locked onCreate"); //init properties for JSON data... childItems = new ArrayList<BT_item>(); dataURL = BT_strings.getJsonPropertyValue(this.screenData.getJsonObject(), "dataURL", ""); saveAsFileName = this.screenData.getItemId() + "_screenData.txt"; if(dataURL.length() < 1) BT_fileManager.deleteFile(saveAsFileName); //array holds list of "button boxes"... buttonBoxes = new ArrayList<RelativeLayout>(); buttonSquares = new ArrayList<RelativeLayout>(); buttonImages = new ArrayList<Drawable>(); // identify size of screen Just for fun, not using this yet if ((getResources().getConfiguration().screenLayout & Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_MASK) == Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_LARGE) { Log.d("Buzz", "* * Android says : Large Size screen"); } else if ((getResources().getConfiguration().screenLayout & Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_MASK) == Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_NORMAL) { Log.d("Buzz", "* * Android says : Normal Size screen"); } else if ((getResources().getConfiguration().screenLayout & Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_MASK) == Configuration.SCREENLAYOUT_SIZE_SMALL) { Log.d("Buzz", "* * Android says : Small Size screen"); } else { Log.d("Buzz", "* * Android says : Not Small, Normal or Large screen"); } readFromCPOnce(); readFromCPforRotation(); layoutDevice(); //reference the container views in the layout file... containerView = (LinearLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.containerView); containerViewHorizontal = (RelativeLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.containerViewHorizontal); containerViewHorizontalBottom = (LinearLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.containerViewHorizontalBottom); containerHorizontalButtons = (LinearLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.containerHorizontalButtons); //reference to vertical ScrollView in the layout file (TableView is in scroll view) verticalScrollView = (ScrollView) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.verticalScrollView); verticalScrollView.setHorizontalScrollBarEnabled(false); verticalScrollView.setVerticalScrollBarEnabled(false); verticalScrollView.setPadding(0, verticalTweak, 0, 0); // adjust the space between the header and the buttons, read in from the CP //reference to horizontal ScrollView in the layout file horizontalScrollView = (HorizontalScrollView) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.horizontalScrollView); horizontalScrollView.setHorizontalScrollBarEnabled(false); horizontalScrollView.setVerticalScrollBarEnabled(false); //reference to TableLayout in the layout file... tableButtonLayout = (TableLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.tableButtonLayout); //flag as created.. //didCreate = true; BT_debugger.showIt(dataURL); LinearLayout headerImageContainer = (LinearLayout) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.headerImageContainer); //Set the background color of the header image headerImageContainer.setBackgroundColor(Color.TRANSPARENT); // make the background transparent (could also be done in XML) alphaImage = BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "headerOpacity", "100"); // part of setting header opacity double useAlpha = Double.parseDouble("" + alphaImage)/100; Log.d("BuzT", "* * Header Opacity deci: " + useAlpha +"%"); headerImageContainer.setAlpha((float) useAlpha); // meant to set opacity Log.d("BuzT", "* * Header Opacity : " + alphaImage +"%"); headerImageView = (ImageView) thisScreensView.findViewById(R.id.headerImageView); Thanks Sean
 
Chris from Staffor...
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 335
Reg: Oct 14, 2013
Stafford
5,750
like
07/10/17 06:26 AM (6 years ago)
Did you get it running on a device? I compile and get a fatal exception error but it loads onto the device and works just fine. Just crashes every time I open a Location Map Screen. I think there are a few bugs in the Android builds that are being worked on.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/10/17 07:11 AM (6 years ago)
no cant compile because of the errors, all mine are coming from amg buttons, so im hoping im just missing something in that.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/10/17 12:47 PM (6 years ago)
Hi Sean, I downloaded an android app with AMG buttons as its main menu a couple of days ago to test the latest core, it worked fine for me. You shouldn't have to do anything extra to make that plugin work in Android. FYI, I was working from Buzztouch hosted. Could it be you are self hosted and the plugin there needs refreshing? Other suggestions - if you are just starting out with Studio, make sure it is completely up to date. I would also test your environment with the simplest app you can make with no 3rd party plugins to start with. Cheers, Alan
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/11/17 12:08 AM (6 years ago)
Hi Al, Yeah im working in self hosted, your plugin states its updated, i can see it in the studio project, but its not in same file as the other bt plugin files are, i updated everything when i started the project yesterday. so dus that mean self hosted wont work with studio then. thanks Sean
 
Chris from Staffor...
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 335
Reg: Oct 14, 2013
Stafford
5,750
like
07/11/17 12:33 AM (6 years ago)
I think there are still bugs with plugins. I can compile my project and it has errors but loads on the device and it works. I can compile an APK and load it and it works. However the Location Map plugin crashes the App. I am BT hosted.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/11/17 02:01 AM (6 years ago)
Hi Sean, my experience is that self hosted code or Buzztouch hosted compiles OK with Android Studio and AMG Buttons plugin works with both and is BT4 compatible. That said, clearly something isn't right and if there is a bug in the plugin, I would like to find it and fix it. But I can't reproduce what you are seeing.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/11/17 07:06 AM (6 years ago)
Chris, you might find some tips to get maps working here https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=1847A2D896213F5DF3EB4D1
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/11/17 07:07 AM (6 years ago)
 
Chris from Staffor...
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 335
Reg: Oct 14, 2013
Stafford
5,750
like
07/11/17 07:23 AM (6 years ago)
I've had maps working fine in BT3 but in BT4 they just crash in Android. I have got a new API set up too, but no joy I think I've done everything right. Thanks for the links I'll double check, but still think there is something not right in BT4.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
like
07/11/17 08:53 PM (6 years ago)
Chris - can you post a new issue with the crash message Android Studio reports? Be sure to link to a Buzztouch.com app using the dataUrl field, so I can test using the same setup you are using.
 
Chris from Staffor...
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 335
Reg: Oct 14, 2013
Stafford
5,750
like
07/12/17 12:40 AM (6 years ago)
I will have a look later and do that for you.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/12/17 02:07 AM (6 years ago)
hi al, do i need to put your plugin in a dif folder or anything, befori uploaded the project i updated studio as it asked me to, do i need to manualy update anything. thanks Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/12/17 02:30 AM (6 years ago)
Nope. It should just work. "Should" being the operative word. At the moment I cannot tell where the problem is that you are seeing is but I can't reproduce it. I suggest you first get yourself able to compile and run the simplest of apps with no 3rd party plugins, just so we know your Android Studio environment is behaving OK and is not the problem. Cheers, Alan
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/12/17 02:51 AM (6 years ago)
ok i will do that today thanks al Sean
 
Annonymous
Profile
07/12/17 10:19 AM (6 years ago)
Chris I have posted what I think will be helpful
 
Chris from Staffor...
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 335
Reg: Oct 14, 2013
Stafford
5,750
like
07/12/17 10:22 AM (6 years ago)
oops posted as anonymous - Chris I've done as suggested and posted with data url etc
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/13/17 01:37 AM (6 years ago)
Hi Alan, I installed an app from my self hosted, with no external plugins, got these errors, can you please advise me if possible. com.android.ddmlib.AdbCommandRejectedException: device unauthorized. This adb server's $ADB_VENDOR_KEYS is not set Try 'adb kill-server' if that seems wrong. Otherwise check for a confirmation dialog on your device. Error while Installing APK cheers dude Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/13/17 11:39 AM (6 years ago)
The mesage is saying there is a problem loading the app onto your device. Youur device is "unauthourised". I don't know how to fix it though.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/14/17 12:23 AM (6 years ago)
ok thanks Al, i thought that but i need a guru to confirm it :), I will reinstall the drivers for the device see if that helps. Thanks Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/18/17 01:49 AM (6 years ago)
I tried something today - I t hink I have worked out why my plugin caused a problem for you - take a look at : https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=DF488057D9A22251DF7A234&fid=06DB0BCB08E6666&sortColumn=FT.id&sortUpDown=DESC&currentPage=1 Basically, I believe it is a self hosted problem introduced as a side-effect of recent changes, when I last tested on self hosted (a couple of weeks ago) it was ok then. Alan
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/18/17 03:06 AM (6 years ago)
Hi Alan sorry missed your post, i managed to get the simple app up and running after reloading the samsung drivers and refreshing the studio, also managed to get the main app with your plugin past the errors by following some of the suggestions from studio, problem i have now is with the app crashing at startup due to the memory i think, i cant find where to increase the memory side, the eoor is listed below FATAL EXCEPTION: main java.lang.OutOfMemoryError at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.nativeDecodeAsset(Native Method) at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.decodeStream(BitmapFactory.java:596) at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.decodeResourceStream(BitmapFactory.java:444) at android.graphics.drawable.Drawable.createFromResourceStream(Drawable.java:832) at android.content.res.Resources.loadDrawable(Resources.java:2988) at android.content.res.Resources.getDrawable(Resources.java:1558) at com.giulianos.utils.BT_fileManager.getDrawableByName(BT_fileManager.java:270) at com.giulianos.utils.BT_viewUtilities.updateBackgroundImageForScreen(BT_viewUtilities.java:155) at com.giulianos.ui.bt_screens.BT_fragment.configureNavBarAndBackgroundForFragment(BT_fragment.java:203) at com.giulianos.ui.bt_screens.BT_fragment.onStart(BT_fragment.java:216) at com.giulianos.ui.bt_screens.BT_screen_menuButtons.onStart(BT_screen_menuButtons.java:207) at android.support.v4.app.Fragment.performStart(Fragment.java:2210) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.moveToState(FragmentManager.java:1337) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.moveFragmentsToInvisible(FragmentManager.java:2323) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.executeOpsTogether(FragmentManager.java:2136) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.optimizeAndExecuteOps(FragmentManager.java:2092) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.execPendingActions(FragmentManager.java:1998) at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl$1.run(FragmentManager.java:709) at android.os.Handler.handleCallback(Handler.java:730) at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:92) at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:176) at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:5419) at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method) at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:525) at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:1046) at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:862) at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method) can you advise me in any way cheers dude Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/18/17 05:38 AM (6 years ago)
I agree with your diagnosis. It's usually the images being too big that provoke Android memory issues. The log leading up to "FATAL EXCEPTION: main java.lang.OutOfMemoryError" that you haven't posted might have a clue. FYI, I struggle with Android too.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/18/17 08:05 AM (6 years ago)
Thanks Al, you still know loads than me dude, though thats not hard lol, this whats just before, can you see anything, i tried reducing the first image size, but didnt make any differance , 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos E/dalvikvm-heap: Out of memory on a 89522192-byte allocation. 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: "main" prio=5 tid=1 RUNNABLE 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: | group="main" sCount=0 dsCount=0 obj=0x41cbf578 self=0x41c64920 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: | sysTid=11567 nice=-16 sched=0/0 cgrp=apps handle=1075032060 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: | state=R schedstat=( 2213599865 80449922 507 ) utm=196 stm=25 core=1 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.nativeDecodeAsset(Native Method) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.decodeStream(BitmapFactory.java:596) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.graphics.BitmapFactory.decodeResourceStream(BitmapFactory.java:444) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.graphics.drawable.Drawable.createFromResourceStream(Drawable.java:832) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.content.res.Resources.loadDrawable(Resources.java:2988) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.content.res.Resources.getDrawable(Resources.java:1558) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.giulianos.utils.BT_fileManager.getDrawableByName(BT_fileManager.java:270) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.giulianos.utils.BT_viewUtilities.updateBackgroundImageForScreen(BT_viewUtilities.java:155) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.giulianos.ui.bt_screens.BT_fragment.configureNavBarAndBackgroundForFragment(BT_fragment.java:203) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.giulianos.ui.bt_screens.BT_fragment.onStart(BT_fragment.java:216) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.Fragment.performStart(Fragment.java:2210) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.moveToState(FragmentManager.java:1337) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.moveFragmentsToInvisible(FragmentManager.java:2323) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.executeOpsTogether(FragmentManager.java:2136) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.optimizeAndExecuteOps(FragmentManager.java:2092) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl.execPendingActions(FragmentManager.java:1998) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.support.v4.app.FragmentManagerImpl$1.run(FragmentManager.java:709) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.os.Handler.handleCallback(Handler.java:730) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:92) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:176) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:5419) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:525) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:1046) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:862) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos I/dalvikvm: at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method) 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos D/skia: --- allocation failed for scaled bitmap 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos D/AndroidRuntime: Shutting down VM 07-18 16:00:52.875 11567-11567/com.giulianos W/dalvikvm: threadid=1: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x41cbe700) cheers Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/18/17 12:22 PM (6 years ago)
The first line here says "Out of memory". In my experience it is what leads up to this that tells the story. What happens after this doesn't matter, its already broken by then.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/19/17 02:10 AM (6 years ago)
HI Al, sorry to bother you , ive restarted and downloaded everything, get these errors on compile Error:(170, 51) error: cannot find symbol variable amg_screen_menubuttons Error:(220, 70) error: cannot find symbol variable tableButtonLayout Error:(226, 87) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageContainer Error:(236, 66) error: cannot find symbol variable headerImageView I can get rid of the bottom 3 by choosing Create field 'tableButtonLayout' Create field 'headerImageContainer' Create field 'headerImageView' is this correct, on the first error i have choice of Create layout resource file 'amg_screen_menubuttons.xml' Create layout value resource 'amg_screen_menubuttons' Create field 'amg_screen_menubuttons' Rename reference Split into declaration and assignment Which one should i choose, Cheers Dude Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/19/17 05:44 AM (6 years ago)
I think perhaps you need to manually add the file 'amg_screen_menubuttons.xml' because the self hosted isn't downloading it. I believe the BT hosted does download it, but the self hosted doesn't. I don't know if something changed in the latest release or if it is a bug. I'm not getting very far myself with Android.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/19/17 06:38 AM (6 years ago)
where do i put the xml file in the studio project al and where is it in the buzz project. Cheers Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/19/17 06:42 AM (6 years ago)
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/19/17 07:22 AM (6 years ago)
Thanks dude, that fixed all errors on your plugin, the reason why my app is csahing on startup is its choosing menu buttons (which i used in this app until i bought your plugin ages ago)i deleted all screens with menu buttons and used yours, so the project i download has no screens with menu buttons in it, but for some reason its trying to use this and thats why its crashing i think, Any ideas Al Thanks Sean
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/19/17 07:41 AM (6 years ago)
Not really, it should work, I have my plugin working on buzztouch 4. Have you tried removing the app from the device, that kind of stuff?
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/19/17 09:22 AM (6 years ago)
Yeah wierd thing is, i did use eclipse first to compile and same thing happened on there works fine on tablet but crashed on phone, so theres something wrong with the downloaded jason, in thats its telling to still use button menu, your plugin worked fine after i added those xml files, so its nothing to do with that. its also asking for the tablet image for the phone image, so that prob why its crashing, which could just be me setting it as that in the json, but cos theres no menu button files with the project could also be why its crashing. there is a problem with jason thats being downloaded from self hosting, heres the code where its asking just before the out of memory error 07-19 15:19:37.895 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_application:initPluginWithScreenData. Creating plugin with JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_screen_menuButtons:setScreenData JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: showFragmentForPlugin 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_activity_host:showFragmentForPlugin. Showing plugin with JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: configureNavBarAndBackgroundForScreen 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_activity_host:configureNavBarAndBackgroundForScreen Calling helper methods in BT_viewUtilities... 07-19 15:19:37.900 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: configureActionBar 07-19 15:19:37.905 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: configureNavBarAndBackgroundForScreen 07-19 15:19:37.905 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_activity_host:configureNavBarAndBackgroundForScreen Calling helper methods in BT_viewUtilities... 07-19 15:19:37.905 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: configureActionBar 07-19 15:19:37.925 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_screen_menuButtons:onAttach JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.925 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_screen_menuButtons:onCreate JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.925 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_screen_menuButtons:onCreateView JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.940 13672-13672/? D/dalvikvm: GC_FOR_ALLOC freed 424K, 18% free 9909K/12048K, paused 12ms, total 12ms 07-19 15:19:37.940 13672-13672/? I/dalvikvm-heap: Grow heap (frag case) to 11.926MB for 1127536-byte allocation 07-19 15:19:37.955 13672-13676/? D/dalvikvm: GC_CONCURRENT freed <1K, 17% free 11010K/13152K, paused 2ms+2ms, total 13ms 07-19 15:19:37.955 13672-13681/? D/dalvikvm: WAIT_FOR_CONCURRENT_GC blocked 11ms 07-19 15:19:37.955 13672-13672/? D/dalvikvm: WAIT_FOR_CONCURRENT_GC blocked 4ms 07-19 15:19:37.965 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_fileManager:deleteFile 330BD806029169C556BE6F3_screenData.txt 07-19 15:19:37.965 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_activity_host: configureActionBar 07-19 15:19:37.975 13672-13672/? W/ZZ: BT_viewUtilities:updateBackgroundColorsForScreen. Screen with JSON itemId: "330BD806029169C556BE6F3" itemType: "BT_screen_menuButtons" itemNickname: "Welcome to Giuliano's a" 07-19 15:19:37.975 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_viewUtilities: backgroundColor exists - applying:#FFFFFF 07-19 15:19:37.975 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_viewUtilities: applying background color to:LinearLayout color id:-1 07-19 15:19:37.975 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_viewUtilities: backgroundImageName exists - applying:ipadfront.jpg 07-19 15:19:37.975 13672-13672/? I/ZZ_BT_viewUtilities: backgroundImage to use:ipadfront.jpg Cheers Sean ps i have updated the project in self hosted
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/20/17 10:33 AM (6 years ago)
Managed to fix the choosing the wrong plugin in the package Al, but its still crashing, so it must be your bug thing, sean and its only happening on Android, the ios version from self hosting is fine.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
07/21/17 07:31 AM (6 years ago)
Hi Sean, when you say "must be your bug thing" I don't know what you mean. But if you think the problem is my plugin, have you tried switching to a different menu to test the theory?. As I said earlier in the thread, I have a test app using my menu on buzztouch hosted and it works on Android. That doesn't mean my plugin is perfect, but if there is something wrong, I'm not seeing it. At the moment, it looks to me as if something happened to the self hosted when @Chris1 pushed out a release about a week ago. Couple that to swithching to Android Studio and there is a lot going for you at the same time. My way of debugging is to start a new app from scratch. Do a little bit, test, convince yourself so far is so good and move on another small step. Stop and repeat.
 
FunkyMonkey
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1177
Reg: Aug 07, 2013
blackpool
14,570
like
07/21/17 07:45 AM (6 years ago)
No Al i dont mean your plugin, your plugin works fine, i have built simple app and it all worked, i meant the post you posted about the bug in the forum, you linked me to it in this post, my app works great ios, phone and tablet, my app works on android tablet but not on phone, its weird, Sean
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.