Discussion Forums  >  Crashes, Memory Warnings

Replies: 9    Views: 303

Sherry
Lost but trying
Reg: Jan 05, 2013
South Africa
12/30/13 04:09 AM (10 years ago)

Multiple pdfs crash app

I'm creating my first iOS app on Buzztouch Self Host 2.1.9 (all plugins are updated) and Xcode 5. My app contains multiple pdf files which are causing it to crash after about 20 screens are opened and closed in quick succession (done during testing). The crash occurs on 2 different ipads one running iOS 6.1 and other iOS 7. If I close the app and stop from running in the background on ipads and re-open app everything runs smoothly again for next 10-20 screens and then either doesn't load the pdf properly or crashes app. I am ready for publishing to app store but have to fix this first. Please can someone help me because I am really new at this and dont have experience with coding.

SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
12/30/13 04:43 AM (10 years ago)
I'm curious what your logs are saying right before the crash… How big are the files? If you're using multiple huge files, you may be running into memory issues… you might try adding this code outside of any other method in your BT_screen_PDF plugin: - (void)didReceiveMemoryWarning { [super didReceiveMemoryWarning]; } In earlier versions of xcode you would 'release' your objects when you were finished with them. Since iOS 7 and BTv3 is using 'ARC' I didn't think we were supposed to worry about that sort of thing, but maybe so… Cheers! -- Smug

Sherry
Lost but trying
South Africa
12/30/13 05:53 AM (10 years ago)