Discussion Forums  >  Maps, Device Location, Tracking

Replies: 16    Views: 432

Kyle Boyett
Lost but trying
Reg: Jan 03, 2015
Waynesville, GA
01/19/15 12:31 PM (9 years ago)

Newbie trying to get a map to display

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to all of this coding, and have run into a snag. I'm currently working on a simple app, and have gotten most of my pages to work. They're just not pretty, but I'll clean it all up later. The issue I'm currently trying to tackle is the location map plug-in. After much trial and error, I've got my device to load up the screen, but no map is displayed. It shows 'Google' in lower left corner, +/- on lower right for zoom, user location symbol in upper right, and a pin icon on very bottom of screen. There is no map loaded in the main screen, and pressing any of these buttons has no effect. Prior to this screen, the only thing I was getting was a symbol for a missing plug-in. Got past that, but now I'd really like to see a map. I've got the coordinates for one location entered in the screen details. But, still no visible map. When the map screen first loads up, at bottom it says '1 location', but nothing else every shows up. This is for Android, using Eclipse. I believe I've pasted my API key in all the necessary places, but like I said, I'm new to this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Kyle

Dusko
Veteran developer
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
01/19/15 01:29 PM (9 years ago)

GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
01/19/15 01:34 PM (9 years ago)
Hi Kyle, Couple of things: * It doesn't work well, and sometimes not at all, on an emulator. So make sure you use a real device if you can. * Make sure you're using the same key to sign your app as you did in generating your APK key. * If you can, hook up your device to Eclipse and see what LogCat says. Lots of times there is good data to be found there. Mark

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
01/19/15 02:01 PM (9 years ago)