Discussion Forums  >  Buzztouch News and Announcements

Replies: 27    Views: 314

Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 615
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,250
01/01/17 08:32 AM (3 months ago)

4.0 Plugin Issues Log

HI All,

As you have seen below, David has updated the iOS and Android Core projects.

A big thank you to David for the iOS update and to Chris1 for the Android update. It is great to see both of them active on teh forums again.

As David elluded to, we expect that there will be some bugs now in the plugins interacting with teh version 4.0 of the BT core.

I think it best to log/comment/report/give feedback in an organised way. So please use this forum post thread to do this. That way plugin developers can look at one place for feedback and be able to respond on the same thread for all to see.

However, if a plugin developer does update their plugin, I suggest they post a separate thread and try and group their plugins in one post if possible.

Again thank you everyone for your patience and especially to David and Chris, trust me this is a big update that is important to all involved and as David mentioned, this is a start of the direction we are moving in, but more of that to come in later posts.

See you on the forum,

Kristen
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/02/17 09:23 AM (3 months ago)
Great to see the updates have arrived.

On behalf of plugin developers, I realise some kind of guidance on what we need to do, to be compatible with the latest core, is needed.

I did a quick check with an ios test project and I can see that my market plugins are not currently compatible with BT 4, so I have removed them from the market. I'll put them back when I have updated them, but at this point, I am not sure what that takes.

Cheers, Alan
 
AppGuy30
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 733
Reg: Oct 29, 2011
location unknow...
14,030
like
01/02/17 10:26 AM (3 months ago)
BTA design menu

JSON.h is not found
 
Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 615
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,250
like
01/02/17 06:40 PM (3 months ago)
HI All,

please check now, you should be getting the new Core project via self hosted download. Although the zip file name still shows v3.0, have a look at the README file on the first line you should see: "Buzztouch v4.0 for..."

Please keep comments in this thread if you still are experiencing any issues.

Regards
 
AppGuy30
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 733
Reg: Oct 29, 2011
location unknow...
14,030
like
01/02/17 06:42 PM (3 months ago)
works well, thanks.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/03/17 10:21 AM (3 months ago)
I’m trying a BT4 test app using my buzztouch hosted control panel (not self hosted). It uses a couple of 3rd party plugins (including mine) I have copied the plugins into the build and I’m seeing a couple of errors.

1. "JSON.h" not found. This used to live in BT_Core. I believe it is needed for some 3rd party plugins. I could copy it into the project but I don’t know if this is the right thing to do.

2. In several 3rd party plugins, there is a line referencing the app delegate e.g for an app called buzztestcp I have:

buzztestcp_appDelegate *appDelegate = (buzztestcp_appDelegate *)[[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate];

This generates syntax errors in BT4. My buzztestcp_appDelegate .h & .m app lived in BT_Config in BT3 and still does in BT4. My conclusion is that references to app delegate appear to have changed - can anyone suggest what needs to be done to fix this?
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3830
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
49,800
like
01/03/17 10:36 AM (3 months ago)
Just remove the line declaring appDelegate anywhere it appears in your plugins. That is now statically defined in the project. As for the JSON.h reference, see my post in the other thread.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/03/17 12:07 PM (3 months ago)
Thanks Chris, in true fashion, I found the other thread after I posted - DOH!

I've made the changes you've suggested and the compiler errors went away. Many thanks for that. I'm yet to get my app to work properly; it's complaining about missing plugin. But I'll keep plugging away....
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/03/17 12:10 PM (3 months ago)
I have also noticed that tests in plugin code for a tabbed app , specifically looking for count, seem to fail now.

I have made the following change to try fix it.

Replace

if([appDelegate.rootApp.tabs count] > 0){ //is this a tabbed app?

with

if([appDelegate.rootApp rootTabBarController] != nil){
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/03/17 12:15 PM (3 months ago)
And I use the following now to check for an iPad in my plugin

Replace

if(![appDelegate.rootDevice isIPad]){

with

if ( UI_USER_INTERFACE_IDIOM() == UIUserInterfaceIdiomPad ) {
 
hendosan
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 13
Reg: Feb 28, 2013
Sydney, Austral...
5,130
like
01/04/17 01:29 AM (3 months ago)
Hi all,

Without knowing the back-end of Buzztouch, I'm wondering whether it's possible, or indeed desirable, to offer members the option to download, at the time of this posting, BT3.0 or BT4.0? Maybe a window of a month or so?

I understand it's great to have lots of people downloading and testing the latest code to iron out any problems. Sometimes, though, what you need is what works.

Happy New Year to one and all.

mark
 
WolfTimJ
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 791
Reg: Feb 20, 2011
Rockwall, TX
17,210
like
01/04/17 08:36 AM (3 months ago)
Chris1,

You posted "As for the JSON.h reference, see my post in the other thread."

I can't find "the other thread", have the same problem. Maybe you could put the url to the thread in that post.

Tim
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3830
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
49,800
like
01/04/17 08:51 AM (3 months ago)
 
WolfTimJ
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 791
Reg: Feb 20, 2011
Rockwall, TX
17,210
like
01/04/17 10:21 AM (3 months ago)
Thanks Chris.

Made a new 4.0 app, four screens. 2x menu_image__advanced and 2x pdf_screens.

Builds with no errors, nice.

Missing plugin error after that. I do have the cr_menu_advanced plugin in the project, 4.0 on my server. Looks like a JSON parsing issue in the log. Here's part of it:

2017-01-04 11:07:07.541 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_user: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.541 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_user: User is not logged in
2017-01-04 11:07:07.542 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.542 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_locationManager: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.542 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_soundEffectPlayer: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.542 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_soundEffectPlayer: loadSoundEffects
2017-01-04 11:07:07.544 milwaukee[6480:545164] milwaukee_appDelegate: refreshAppData
2017-01-04 11:07:07.544 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_fileManager: readTextFileFromBundleWithEncoding: "BT_config_en.txt" encoding: -1
2017-01-04 11:07:07.545 milwaukee[6480:545164] milwaukee_appDelegate: refreshAppData: ERROR parsing JSON: Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=3840 "No value." UserInfo={NSDebugDescription=No value.}
2017-01-04 11:07:07.812 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.812 milwaukee[6480:545164] milwaukee_appDelegate: refreshAppData: Database contains 0 rows
2017-01-04 11:07:07.812 milwaukee[6480:545164] milwaukee_appDelegate: updateConfigDataInDatabase: parsing config data
2017-01-04 11:07:07.813 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getOneValue: "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.813 milwaukee[6480:545164] updateConfigDataInDatabase: Database items BEFORE updating: 2
2017-01-04 11:07:07.813 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getSimpleStringListWithQuery: "SELECT guid FROM tbl_btItems"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.816 milwaukee[6480:545164] milwaukee_appDelegate: ERROR parsing JSON in updateConfigDataInDatabase: Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=3840 "No value." UserInfo={NSDebugDescription=No value.}
2017-01-04 11:07:07.816 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_loading: appDataDidLoad (recieved notification from delegate)
2017-01-04 11:07:07.816 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: buildInterface app interface
2017-01-04 11:07:07.817 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_background_view: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.817 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: getTabs
2017-01-04 11:07:07.817 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: getBtItemsWithType "Tab"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.817 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getBtItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * from tbl_btItems WHERE itemTypeLabel = 'Tab'"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.817 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * from tbl_btItems WHERE itemTypeLabel = 'Tab'"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.818 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: building a single navigation controller app
2017-01-04 11:07:07.818 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: getItemDataByItemId
2017-01-04 11:07:07.818 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getBtItemWithId: ""
2017-01-04 11:07:07.818 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getItemsWithQuery: "SELECT * FROM tbl_btItems WHERE guid = ''"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.819 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_database: getBtItemWithId: ERROR. Multiple items in db have id: ""
2017-01-04 11:07:07.819 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: could not find screen with itemId:
2017-01-04 11:07:07.819 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: getViewControllerForScreen nickname: "no nickname?" itemId: n/a type: BT_missing
2017-01-04 11:07:07.819 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_application: getViewControllerForScreen: NO STORYBOARD, looking for .XIB FOR: "BT_missing"
2017-01-04 11:07:07.820 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_missing: INIT
2017-01-04 11:07:07.835 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_missing: viewDidLoad (super)
2017-01-04 11:07:07.835 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_missing: configureNavBar (super) for screen with itemId: n/a
2017-01-04 11:07:07.836 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_missing: configureBackground (super) for screen with itemId n/a:
2017-01-04 11:07:07.836 milwaukee[6480:545164] BT_background_view: updateProperties (color and image) for screen with itemId: n/a:
 
Scorpian
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 4
Reg: Jun 01, 2016
Coimbatore
40
like
01/04/17 10:45 AM (3 months ago)
Hi,

I created a Android test app using BTv4.0 with just a Custom Url plugin.
When I run the apk in the simulator, it shows a blank screen and also the App refresh button that appears on the right top corner is missing.

When I again published the changes in the Buzztouch control panel, a prompt showed up with message "Refresh App content?".

Am I missing any coding changes that I should have done for the app before apk generation.

Please advise.
Thanks.
 
hendosan
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 13
Reg: Feb 28, 2013
Sydney, Austral...
5,130
like
01/05/17 02:38 AM (3 months ago)
Further to my earlier post (01/04/17 07:29 PM), why not offer a choice of downloads? Default would be the latest version of BT. Options would be earlier versions. Presented in the right way, I'm sure this would cater for all BTers old and new.

mark
 
Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 615
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,250
like
01/05/17 06:33 AM (3 months ago)
Hi @hendosan,

We did see your earlier post, although we don't respond immediately we are reading and considering all the posts, there is no need to repost the same comment a couple of hours later. It just clogs up the forum and loses focus of the discussions.

We do already have plans to enable users to download the package or version of the users choice. This should be made public very soon. We are also comfortable that the base code works fine, there are som eplugins that have issues and there is also some misunderstanding in some cases about where the plugin/screens code is. We will update the forum again shortly.

Ideally in the future, we will release the new version to plugin developers prior to a major update. In order to give them time to update their plugins prior to go live of the new version.

Please keep an eye on the forum especially in the coming days as we respond to the queries.

Kristen
 
Kael716
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 10
Reg: Nov 08, 2016
Dallas
600
like
01/05/17 10:01 AM (3 months ago)
Did anyone ever figure out why folders such as BT_Docs are completely missing in apps packaged under BT 4.0? Without them our apps cannot find local documents. Do we need to create these folders manually from here forward?

This is a new issue on apps created for Android. I have not yet tested on iOS apps.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3830
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
49,800
like
01/05/17 11:01 AM (3 months ago)
@Kael716 - I haven't heard of this issue yet. I'll look into it this week while I'm making the additional updates.
 
devapps123
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jul 12, 2012
Sarasota, FL
450
like
01/08/17 07:15 AM (3 months ago)
While the system improvements are appreciated, *PLEASE* seriously consider adding an option to download the 3.0 packages ASAP. Some of us have projects on deadline and simply need functional package downloads.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3830
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
49,800
like
01/08/17 07:23 AM (3 months ago)
@devapps123 - are you needing iOS or Android? If Android, have you tried 4.0 to see if it works for you yet?
 
devapps123
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jul 12, 2012
Sarasota, FL
450
like
01/08/17 08:54 AM (3 months ago)
Hi, @Chris1. Thanks for your reply. I need both iOS and Android. I've been having problems importing the Android packages to both Eclipse and Android Studio, and with iOS I've run into both the JSON and "missing plugin" problems. Xcode is up to date and I've rearranged all of the plugins as advised. It's not reading the HTML Pro homepage screen on iOS.
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3830
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Oklahoma City, ...
49,800
like
01/08/17 09:20 AM (3 months ago)
Okay - looks like I hadn't updated HTML Pro for the new Buzztouch 4.0 core. It is now and I verified I could compile a project using it just fine using both iOS and Android.

--------------------------------------------------
NOTE: THIS BRINGS UP A REALLY IMPORTANT POINT

ENABLING PRIOR VERSIONS OF BUZZTOUCH WILL NOT SOLVE MOST PEOPLE'S ISSUES. MANY OF THE PLUGINS HAVE ALREADY BEEN UPDATED WITH BUZZTOUCH 4.0, AND ARE NOT GOING TO BE COMPATIBLE WITH PRIOR VERSIONS. IF YOU HAVE ISSUES WITH 4.0, YOU NEED TO ADDRESS IT WITH THE PLUGIN DEVELOPERS THAT HAVEN'T UPDATED THEIR PLUGINS.
 
Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 615
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,250
like
01/08/17 06:51 PM (3 months ago)
@devapps123,

Can you list the plugins you are experiencing issues with please?
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/09/17 05:57 AM (3 months ago)
On the really important point raised by Chris, I recall that when you upload your plugin to the market, the structure accommodates folders for BT 2 and BT 3. If we had that approach for BT 4, would we perhaps be able to support BT 3?
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2542
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
36,420
like
01/11/17 11:22 AM (3 months ago)
Chris, you mentioned "IF YOU HAVE ISSUES WITH 4.0, YOU NEED TO ADDRESS IT WITH THE PLUGIN DEVELOPERS THAT HAVEN'T UPDATED THEIR PLUGINS".

I have pulled my plugins from the market until I know I can make them work at least as well as they did before.

I know it can be really hard to get a new release of a system like Buzztouch off the ground. I am sure a lot of hard work has gone into getting us this far, but it doesn't seem that the garden is all roses yet.

I have only looked iOS, but all the problems I have posted about on BT 4 appear to be with the core, not with the plugins, specifically around app refresh and setting values (colours) from the control panel from a screen.

I have made test apps for self hosted and buzztouch hosted. I'm more than happy to roll up my sleeves and help out if I can, which at the moment is to publish findings. I know enough to recognise the problems, but I don't know enough to point out the solutions.

Kirsten, I am sure what I and others would very much appreciate is an update on the current state of affairs please.

Alan
 
Kaybee
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 615
Reg: Sep 22, 2012
Perth, Australi...
44,250
like
01/12/17 09:30 PM (3 months ago)
Hi gents,

Just a quick note, we are furiously working on an update to the core (version 4.0.1).

This should be out by Monday. As previously noted in another posts, plugins and core code need to both be on the major version number, for example Plugins than run 4.x.x wont be able to run on Core V3.x For this reason we will not be offering a rolled back Core version. We are moving forward with new up to date code.

After releasing the V4.0.0 two weeks ago we have gathered all the feedback and have done some bug cleaning. We expect V4.0.1 to have eradicated all those nasties.

So look out for this, also we will have a few files for you to replace on your self hosted, to make sure that works well too, not a major update but rather just what is needed for now.

Thank you for the feedback.

Kristen
 
feraco
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 697
Reg: Jan 23, 2012
nyc
14,970
like
01/15/17 11:15 AM (3 months ago)
Thanks Im excited for the update!
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.