Discussion Forums  >  Maps, Device Location, Tracking

Replies: 8    Views: 289

Nicks App
Code is Art
Reg: May 21, 2014
Las Vegas
08/04/14 08:49 AM (9 years ago)

Location Map and Amazon Devices - Failed Test

So I've been working for 2 months (almost) on the current version of my Map App. (Much of the time on organizing the location data.) A list of tourism sights for each of 12 Travel Areas of the world, countries in that area, cities in that country, tourism categories... then Location Map with marker pins on the live map with user's current location shown. So here's the new 900 lb Gorilla in the room: Location Map doesn't work with Amazon Kindle devices. Why? Because it uses Google Maps. The error messages (below) also show that Menu Simple isn't working on Amazon devices (Kindles)! First Menu Simple for the Main Menu, then for the list of States, then for the Cities in the State, then for the Categories - then for the Map with marker pins. The report says Main Menu went to the list of States, but then tapping on Alaska brought up a blank screen, rather than the list of cities in Alaska. Works fine on non-Amazon Android devices (per their test), on my Visual Land Android 4.1, and on my iPhone. When I added the App to my account with Amazon, there was a checkbox, something about substituting Amazon or someone else's maps, for Google maps. I just checked the Location Map plug-in's details page, and there's no caveat that it wont work on Amazon devices. (Kindle this and that.) So what?? No big deal that my App won't work on Amazon devices (Kindles)?? When it will work on non-Amazon Android devices? Should there be a version of Location Map that works on Kindles - but then might not work on non-Amazon Androids? And labeled as such? Separate Apps? How do you submit non-Amazon Android and Amazon device specific Apps? And what about the error they got with Menu Simple on Kindles? Not a "error message" on the screen, but a blank page where they should have seen the nex