Discussion Forums  >  Crashes, Memory Warnings

Replies: 9    Views: 129

Nidhogg
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3
Reg: Aug 20, 2012
Houston, Texas
2,480
09/07/12 09:47 AM (11 years ago)

App crashes in android tried to replace home screen

I am brand new to development so this might be a simple fix! i tried to replace the simple menu with a button one and not the app crashes! tips? ideas? Thanks in advance!
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
09/07/12 09:52 AM (11 years ago)
Hi @Nidhogg, Welcome to buzztouch! Hard to say what might be happening without looking at console or LogCat messages. You could try and do a Project...Clean from the menu bar, and build again, and see what happens. Syncing the configuration data file almost might help. Here's a video that shows how to do that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sp2vL1XCPC0 Also, check out this step-by-step, illustrated guide for Android development. It might help get you through some other issues! http://www.buzztouch.com/files/howtos/buzztouch_For_Android-A_Users_Guide.pdf Post back if you need help! Mark
 
Nidhogg
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3
Reg: Aug 20, 2012
Houston, Texas
2,480
like
09/07/12 10:36 AM (11 years ago)
I have ran both of those ideas and still no luck. i do not report and errors and i have the correct emulator running with the proper dependence files for Google API 2.2. The app ran fine until as i said i deleted the main home screen in buzztouch and tried to recreate it using a button style instead. https://docs.google.com/open?id=0ByOtLZoRMFpacTBVTlpIY3p2dzQ hope that link might help its the source code.zip
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
09/07/12 01:39 PM (11 years ago)
The app I am working on right now is Android and with a button menu for the home page, so I know it can work. Do you have a splash screen? If so, other posts in the past have advised the splash screen be completely removed in Android for improved stability, that worked for me. Btw, credit for that one is really to @GoNorthWest, the advise in the previous post was his!
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
09/07/12 02:40 PM (11 years ago)
Hello! I ran your project through Eclipse, and it crashed on me as well. It crashes on the transition from the splash screen to the home screen for some reason. I also made sure the configuration data file was synced before I did it. So...my suggestion is: * Delete the Splash Screen from your control panel * Remove the Splash Screen from your Theme definition in the control panel * Sync your config file again * Run and hopefully enjoy! Mark
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
09/07/12 02:44 PM (11 years ago)
I removed all references of the splash screen from the config file, ran the app, and all is good! So I know it'll work! Mark
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
09/07/12 10:15 PM (11 years ago)
Good fix @GoNorthWest, but do you know what the Splash screen crashed it? Seems strange. It shouldn't :-)
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
09/07/12 11:28 PM (11 years ago)
Hey David, This actually happens quite frequently. In most cases, like this one, a splash screen was specified in the global theme, but the screen itself didn't exist in the config file. For this one, it crashed on something like transitionToHomeScreen. I can easily repro this, so I'll get you LogCat output tomorrow. Mark
 
Nidhogg
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 3
Reg: Aug 20, 2012
Houston, Texas
2,480
like
09/08/12 12:11 PM (11 years ago)
Thank you so much its running great again!!
 
teamcaz
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 513
Reg: Jun 12, 2011
carlsbad
5,130
like
10/02/12 07:32 AM (11 years ago)
I just also had this same issue. My Remedy: I have 2.0 screens in Tabbed view with no Splash Screen. On compile the Bt_config text shows there is a splash screen. I follow Go North's directions. I went back into my "Themes" made sure Splash was blank and then pressed save. Now bt_config shows no splash, and all is working.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.