Discussion Forums  >  App Store Rejections

Replies: 15    Views: 255

Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
06/26/13 12:36 PM (9 years ago)

Update rejected, iPhone 5

So, I made an app on BT 2.0 before the iphone 5. Apple is requiring that apps be compatible with iphone 5. How do I make my 2.0 app compatible with the new screen size? thanks in advance for anything you can offer.
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 12:39 PM (9 years ago)
Option 1: Have you re-downloaded the source code for your project? (Many new code-side features have been added) Option 2: Add a default-568@2x.png to your project file by creating a default loading image with the resolution of 1136 by 640, then going to Xcode -> Summery -> Default Loading Screens and dragging your new image into the box Requirements: I would advise using the latest Xcode (4.6.3) and building to the latest SDK (6.1). Do you have an iPhone 5 or iPod 5th Generation to test your app on? Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 12:50 PM (9 years ago)
I do not. would 2.0 redownload contain that though?
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 12:51 PM (9 years ago)
Is there just some code I can change that will fix it?
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 12:53 PM (9 years ago)
What version of Xcode are you running? Try including this one in your project, it is just a blank image, but it should allow iPhone 5 support. http://jworldhosting.com/Uploads/Images/Default-568h@2x.png Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 12:55 PM (9 years ago)
4.6.2
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 12:56 PM (9 years ago)
Did that image do the trick? Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 12:58 PM (9 years ago)
don't know yet. they don't tell me till after I've submitted it
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 12:59 PM (9 years ago)
But, have you tried to run it on the iOS Simulator (4" Retina)? I would strongly advise this, if you do not test, it may crash. Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 01:03 PM (9 years ago)
CRAP! My background image isn't long enough
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 01:04 PM (9 years ago)
Yes, this is why I suggest re-downloading the source code. Many of the plugins will display a centimeter gap at the bottom of the screen. If you send that into Apple, it could cause you a lot of problems. Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 01:05 PM (9 years ago)
Will I need to drag all my files back into the Xcode project?
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 01:07 PM (9 years ago)
I test for iPhone 5 even though I don't have one; one of the options of the simulator is a 4" retina screen... I usually just need to lower the zoom so it all fits on my screen. Cheers! -- Smug
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
06/26/13 01:10 PM (9 years ago)
@Njmpwnz: Yes, you will need to: 1. Re-download the Source Code 2. Drag the Plugins folder into Xcode 3. Copy all of your Media (BT_Images, and BT_Docs) into the new Xcode project file 4. Make sure your default images are updated (not the blank ones included with the download) Jake
 
Njmpwnz
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 165
Reg: Feb 08, 2011
Cleves
2,350
like
06/26/13 02:21 PM (9 years ago)
how do I add a background image for iphone 5?
 
tb
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2050
Reg: Nov 03, 2011
Oxford
32,300
Fourm StarFourm Star
like
06/27/13 08:35 AM (9 years ago)
Make the background image for the iPhone 5 dimensions, then the lower chunk will be cut off when using an iPhone without the 4-inch display.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.