Discussion Forums  >  Capturing Images, Uploading Data

Replies: 17    Views: 201

RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
11/04/12 09:04 AM (10 years ago)

Cant get app to iPhone or iPad

I have been trying to get the app to run on my iPhone 5 or iPad - Both are iOS6. I get the following message: CodSign error: code signing is required for product type 'Application' in SDK 'iOS 6.0 I have installed the provisioning profiles into Key Chain access and into Mac (Multiple times) per the wizard. All seems well. Both devices have developer settings installed. When I plug and unplug the devices - the Provisioning Provile moves to the correct device in the organizer - but still it does not work. What am I missing?
 
MadRod
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1852
Reg: Apr 12, 2012
Lisbon
27,920
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 09:46 AM (10 years ago)
On xcode on your project, you have to go to building settings an in code signing identity you have to select the profile with your developer certificate. You have to register with apple developer program to get this certificate in order to be able to test on devices. Cheers. Miguel
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 11:51 AM (10 years ago)
I did that, but I had not put it into the xCode SDK profile. Now that i have done that, it starts to compile and I get 50 warnings all of which say: "Depreciations 'present (then it varies) is depreciates" Then, finally, it ends with a "Code Sign Error" - Command/user/bin/codesign failed with exit code 1" I guess this is some sort of progress - but I still have no clue why I am getting the warnings. I think I am going to delete all the profiles and start over again. Any help would be appreciated.
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 01:17 PM (10 years ago)
Does it run in the simulator?
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 01:23 PM (10 years ago)
Yep.
 
WolfTimJ
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 810
Reg: Feb 20, 2011
Rockwall, TX
17,400
Fourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 01:44 PM (10 years ago)
Your device shows up in the organizer and has been added to the portal, correct? After that, just ensure your code signing identities are selected for debug. Clean. Run with the target selected as your specific device, not just "iOS Device".
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 01:44 PM (10 years ago)
If it runs in an IOS 6 simulator, then I think we can ignore the warnings at the moment, I strongly suspect codesigning is not right, not sure why though. When you go into the build settings, you change 'do not code sign' to your developer profile signature and this needs to be done in about 5 lines all grouped together. When you to do that, if you hover overthe codesign, it should confirm if the the signature matches the app. I can't remeber the details but it should give a clue.
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 01:50 PM (10 years ago)
I notices that the errors show up on the simulator also, but it doesn't fail. So I think you guys are right, it has to do with the code. I deleted out all the certificate and started over from scratch and reinstalled. They are set up in the profile although it gives me a choice of distribution or developer and I am not sure which goes where.
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:29 PM (10 years ago)
Under code signing Identity it will not let me pick one because it says "Multiple Values"?
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:37 PM (10 years ago)
At this stage you need a developer profile only.
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:38 PM (10 years ago)
Under code signing Identity it will not let me pick one because it says "Multiple Values"?
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:40 PM (10 years ago)
Under code signing Identity it will not let me pick one because it says "Multiple Values"?
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:42 PM (10 years ago)
They are no on Developer profile - same error.
 
WolfTimJ
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 810
Reg: Feb 20, 2011
Rockwall, TX
17,400
Fourm StarFourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:47 PM (10 years ago)
Where it says multiple values, select it then choose iPhone Developer under Automatic Profile Selector near the top. Clean Ensure your connected device shows up in the box next to the Run and Stop button. Run
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:47 PM (10 years ago)
Here is the error where it fails: /Users/royhelsing/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/thghomeowner-esgxayxhtnhjnjciabrkopzptatv/Build/Products/Debug-iphoneos/thghomeowner.app: The operation was cancelled by the user.Command /usr/bin/codesign failed with exit code 1 This is a bit of an improvement, because now it at least starts to compile and gives me a bunch of error messages that don't keep it from crashing on the simulator. I am convinced the codesigns are installed correctly and am beginning to think the issue is somewhere in the Build Settings
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 02:50 PM (10 years ago)
Not sure what clean means. Will look around. Thanks.
 
RoyHelsing
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 24
Reg: Oct 27, 2012
Sam Ramon, CA
2,390
Fourm Star
like
11/04/12 03:48 PM (10 years ago)
Well, I deleted the entire app and removed all the certificates. I reinstalled the app and that got rid of all of the "Deprecation" errors. I obtained new certificates and installed them. App works fine in simulator but the same error as above if I try to run it in either iphone or iPad. The only thing I see is when I look in the KeyChain Access while the pubic and private keys are under each other - in the example it shows a certificate indented under the second key and I don't have that. Anyone have any ideas
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
Fourm StarFourm StarFourm Star
like
11/05/12 12:27 AM (10 years ago)
Subscribing to this post. I think i might need all the information in this post sometime in the near future.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.