Calypso Kid
Aspiring developer
Reg: Mar 09, 2012
Upstate New Yor...
12/19/13 06:14 PM (10 years ago)

Seeking advice from those with experience

Hello all, So I've been around for a year or so and now I want to expand, or at least be prepared to expand when I'm ready to. I just started playing with self hosting and began migrating my apps to self hosted 3.0. I'm hosted with Hostgator and I'm having fun learning about how the self hosting structure works with FTP and the Hostgator CP and the whole back end process works etc. I decided to go with Hostgator by reading these posts and the opinions of all of you. Thinking of putting my Hostgator account to work, I started playing with making my website (which right now is just a contact form required by Apple) into something a bit more respectful. I'm trying out Photoshop CC and Dreamweaver CC which will have a monthly payment of $9.99 for Photoshop CC or $29.99 per month for the entire suite. If I decide that I need these tools, i can cancel the payments after 1 year. Being mostly inexperienced with app and web creation, I turned to this forum and saw that Smugwimp (whose advice has always been spot on) uses Joomla! to create his sites. So my questions/thoughts- Because I've decided to learn and use Joomla! for the website (thanks Smug), do I need Dreamweaver and/or Photoshop? I haven't gotten too deep yet with Joomla! so I don't know what it's capable of. I can see that Dreamweaver might not be needed but maybe I might need Photoshop (after learning it) to create artwork or manipulate photos for my website and apps. Then again, Dreamweaver seems pretty cool to create html easily. And maybe later after I figure it all out, i could build sites and apps for other people. As far as the Adobe products monthly payment, my app sales would cover it. I'm actually out of the red and slightly into the black. Well, if I want to expand my horizons and create some decent material for myself and possibly others as a hobby, not a prof