Discussion Forums  >  Maps, Device Location, Tracking

Replies: 12    Views: 140

Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
06/28/13 12:00 PM (10 years ago)

No Map Tile, No Location - Google MD5 vs SHA1 in Androd SDK

Hello Buzztouchers, this rookie is in need of help. I'm creating my first app and it includes a location map with driving directions. When I test the app in the emulator as well as on a device the same TWO things happens. (1) A blank google map screen opens with just the pin, (no map tile. (2) If I click on the pin, a pop-up appears with the option to click for direction. When I click on the directions I get "No Location Found - Your device does not appear to be reporting its location." Here's what I've done: For issue (1) I watched Mark's 20min tutorial here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGC9IuEMwBE (thanks Mark very helpful)as well as How to Generate a Google Map for Android v2 Key shown here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2jLGVYVtaM I could no longer get the API using MD5 Fingerprint so I used SHA1 Then I modified the string.xml with the API (I tried both the Debug and the release and changed the manifest accordingly)still nothing For issue (2) I double checked control panel to ensure that both, show driving directions and in the map behavior, Yes, show users location was selected. Is there something else I need to do? Any troubleshooting tips?
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
06/28/13 12:37 PM (10 years ago)
Responding to your email, but: (1) Buzztouch doesn't quite yet support the new API keys from Google, so maps currently don't work. Unless you have a v1 key from a previous app, there's nothing we can do at the moment. (2) GPS does not work on the emulator, which is why you are getting that error. However, it should work on a real device. In your control panel, make sure under Core Properties > Start Tracking Location (turn on GPS) you have GPS enabled. Mark
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 12:44 PM (10 years ago)
Thanks Mark, you're the best :). The solution for #2 worked perfectly. For #1, any idea how soon we will see a Buzztouch update?
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 12:45 PM (10 years ago)
Thanks Mark, you're the best :). The solution for #2 worked perfectly. For #1, any idea how soon we will see a Buzztouch update?
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
06/28/13 12:48 PM (10 years ago)
I actually discussed that with David @ Buzztouch yesterday, and he's going to be posting an update to the forum on the topic very soon. Not sure what the status is. Mark
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 12:53 PM (10 years ago)
Nice, I'll keep an eye out
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 01:03 PM (10 years ago)
Nice, I'll keep an eye out
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
06/28/13 01:04 PM (10 years ago)
Keep in mind that whenever you refresh a forum post, it posts again your last post! It's best to click on the forum link each time you want to check a status...or wait until you get a response email! Mark
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 01:39 PM (10 years ago)
ahhh, that explains that... i was wondering how that happened :)
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
06/28/13 01:47 PM (10 years ago)
If you use a Google Map using a 'webView' rather than a 'mapView' no API key is required. Just use the coordinates in the URL... It will still give you options for directions. Cheers! -- Smug
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
06/28/13 02:30 PM (10 years ago)
I keep forgetting about webView! That indeed is a good temporary solution. Mark
 
Sophia The Rookie
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 15
Reg: May 28, 2013
New York
2,800
like
06/28/13 08:17 PM (10 years ago)
ok, where do I do this? change from mapview to webview
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
06/28/13 09:04 PM (10 years ago)
Well, you'll need to change the code. For the most part, you can just change 'mapView' to 'webView'. However, they have different properties, so you may also need to change some properties or the way those properties are given/read. http://developer.android.com/reference/android/webkit/WebView.html I used a webView for the Android portion of my MsgLoc plugin, and it turned out pretty easy. Cheers! -- Smug
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.