Discussion Forums  >  App Store Rejections

Replies: 17    Views: 1704

Shubhojit
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 21
Reg: Nov 02, 2014
bangalore
210
11/30/14 09:40 AM (5 years ago)

Changing Android app package name ! Please help...

I was going to upload my apk in google developers console, but I got an error message "change package name an upload again" as I was rejected for the same once.

So I followed the following step:

1: Goto android manifest file--> Change package name to "com.example"

2: So many errors were there in src folder.

3: So going to src folder I changed the name of that particular folder("com.example1") to some ("com.example2")
then all errors are gone!

4: But while launching the apk in the phone, I am getting something like this all the time-->

"Unfortunately App name has stopped"



Can you please help me out with this?

Or any other way to change the package name/id in buzztouch itself?



Thanks
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
11/30/14 01:30 PM (5 years ago)
I think this is the answer to your question : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14643946/changing-app-name-in-eclipse

In buzztouch, under core properties you can change the app name or the project name. You can then download the project and recompile in eclipse.

Good luck, Alan
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
11/30/14 03:48 PM (5 years ago)
Hi @Shubhojit,

Meant to answer your email last night, and then lost track of time.

The easiest way to deal with this is the way Alan suggests. Go into your Core Properties section for that app, change the Project Name (Not the App Name...that's just for display), and then download the package again. This will change the package name (like com.yourapp) and all the associated files that have those references...and there are a lot.

Hope that helps!

Mark
 
Dusko
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 998
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
22,680
like
11/30/14 10:38 PM (5 years ago)
However, once you succeed in publishing your app in the Play store, you must use one and the same package name, otherwise you will not be able to upload new versions of the same app.
 
Shubhojit
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 21
Reg: Nov 02, 2014
bangalore
210
like
12/01/14 02:09 AM (5 years ago)
@mark : changing name at core properties did not do a lot.
Another process --> Right click on the project -> Android Tools -> Rename Application package
worked with mine.

will catch you up again :)

Thanks again
 
Shubhojit
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 21
Reg: Nov 02, 2014
bangalore
210
like
12/01/14 02:10 AM (5 years ago)
@alan: Thanks AlanMac, that helped!
 
Shubhojit
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 21
Reg: Nov 02, 2014
bangalore
210
like
12/01/14 02:13 AM (5 years ago)
@dusko: It's not yet published, although thanks for your suggestion.

Will keep that in mind.
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
12/02/14 12:50 PM (5 years ago)
if you change the Package name this way:
Right click on the project -> Android Tools -> Rename Application package
and than you make changes in the control panel, will the app update with no issue?
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
12/02/14 01:16 PM (5 years ago)
It might. But doing it the other way guarantees that it will.

Mark
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
12/02/14 02:04 PM (5 years ago)
i don't really understand your comment,
if i do: Right click on the project -> Android Tools -> Rename Application package
i might have issue,
if i change the Core Properties, change the Project Name
it's guaranteed i will have issues.
is this your meaning?
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
12/02/14 02:10 PM (5 years ago)
Sorry. If you change the package name via the BT control panel, download the new source package, and compile, you won't have any issues. Changing the package name the other method is likely to introduce some issues.

Mark
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
12/02/14 02:15 PM (5 years ago)
ok thanks, now it's clear, but this way i cannot change the com. to something else right? it must be com.whatever.iwant, it cannot be it.whatever.iwant
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
12/02/14 02:58 PM (5 years ago)
Not via the control panel. By default, it creates everything as com.whatever. That's a good feature request though. It's actually never come up before!

Mark
 
Dusko
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 998
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
22,680
like
12/02/14 03:11 PM (5 years ago)
>That's a good feature request though.

Not really. The only thing that Google insists on is that your package name is unique in the Play Store. You may call it whatever you want, as long as it is unique. There are several types of names on the Internet that are unique, email addresses and domain names amongst them.

If the domain name is unique, then the reverse domain name will be "even more unique", hence the idea to start all package names with com., simulating the reverse name of the most popular top level domain type.
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
12/02/14 03:20 PM (5 years ago)
i wanted to do it "it.domain.appname" to have my own reverse domain
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
12/02/14 03:22 PM (5 years ago)
Agreed, but what I think he's suggesting is that it.xxx replace com.xxx to indicate that it's an Italian company, as opposed to a generic dot com. From an end user perspective, they'll never know. But, if a company wanted to use it.xxx or whatever, then it would be a good option. At the moment, BT defaults to com. It's pretty much personal preference.

Mark
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
12/02/14 04:29 PM (5 years ago)
Comment removed,
 
benedettoapp
Lost but trying
Profile
Posts: 139
Reg: Jun 22, 2013
Italy
6,340
like
02/24/16 05:53 PM (3 years ago)
@GoNorthWest
It's been a while, i'm trying to do the it.xxx in the new Android studio, i managed to find it in Build, Edit Flavors... Application id, but it sill will not change it, would you mind having a look at it? Thanks.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.