Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 10    Views: 171

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
04/11/16 01:22 AM (8 years ago)

BT3 Push Notifications guide for OneSignal, Android & iOS

I recently succeeded in adding OneSignal push notifications to one of my BT 3 apps, after @ictguy and @DougJoseph posted that they had it working. One of the attractions of OneSignal (apart from being free) is that you can import Parse apps into theOneSignal console, which I haven't tried (yet). There are a few of us using Parse.com, who have announced their plans to stop providing their service. I found the guides from OneSignal to be very good. For Android I still use Eclipse, they have Android Studio guides too. I'm not a great coder and I often find when adding 3rd party features like this, that there is a lot of experimenting, head scratching and trial end error. If I don’t make notes, down the road I forget how I did it. So, referencing OneSignal instructions wherever I could, I made a couple of howto docs, making Buzztouch specific notes along the way. I know others who were successful mentioned they removed / commented out a lot of code; I didn’t, so I thought I'd post my recipes, there is an iOS howto here: http://bit.ly/1TJPvho and an Android howto here: http://bit.ly/1Vfa8Ui. Enjoy!

Dusko
Veteran developer
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
04/11/16 01:31 AM (8 years ago)
Many thanks for this. Just to be sure, for Android you use OneSignal and for iOS you use PushWizard, correct?

AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Esher, UK
04/11/16 01:44 AM (8 years ago)
Oops. The OneSignal iOS link is http://bit.ly/1Sa4AcS I did get pushwizard working too, but for iOS - I haven't been as successful on PushWizard with Android.

nadthevlad
Code is Art
Reg: Jun 07, 2012
Denver
04/11/16 04:25 AM (8 years ago)
Thanks. Very helpful.

KozmoWeb
Aspiring developer
Reg: Dec 08, 2012
Sarasota, FL
04/12/16 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
Thanks! I'll check it out! William