Discussion Forums  >  BT.com Website, Account Questions

Replies: 12    Views: 208

Andrusito
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jun 17, 2013
cordoba
450
12/30/15 04:06 AM (3 years ago)

Ending membership

hello

My membership is ending in a few months and wanted to know what will happen to the apps I published on the Play store under this account.

Can people continue using them without trouble? will they have any type of errors or bugs?

Thanks!
 
MadRod
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 1848
Reg: Apr 12, 2012
Lisbon
27,880
like
12/30/15 01:37 PM (3 years ago)
Hi, that all depends on how the app is set up.

If you have files on bt server and your membership is not renewed the app will not be able to access those files, giving you an error.

If you have an offline app, all will be ok. If you need the server, it will not not.

Cheers.
 
Dusko
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 998
Reg: Oct 13, 2012
Beograd
22,680
like
12/30/15 02:50 PM (3 years ago)
What happens if I don't maintain my subscription?: a) You'll need to find a different app making solution. b) Your account will be removed and all data associated with it will be removed. c) You won't be able to create any new apps. d) Apps you created using Buzztouch that do not rely on any data on the Buzztouch backend will continue to work.


taken from here:

https://www.buzztouch.com/pricing/
 
sarahk
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 155
Reg: Jul 16, 2014
Auckland
10,250
like
01/03/16 10:09 PM (3 years ago)
grab the btconfig file, put it on your server, change the text of the config file at bt and on your server to reflect the new url.

As users refresh they'll get the new version.
If users don't refresh before your 2 months is up they've got a dead app that you can't edit. If it's a free app then that may not matter to you. If they've paid for the app then they'll be annoyed. But then, if they've paid for the app you can justify the renewal...
 
Annonymous
Profile
like
01/04/16 08:24 AM (3 years ago)
thanks all of you!

@sarahk look at the image: http://imgur.com/pEFcWfg

is that what you mean?

I've already upload the BT_config.txt file in my server and changed that field value.

Before uploading it, I edited the config file as show here: http://imgur.com/Vn1WdJA

Is that ok?

Thanksss
 
Andrusito
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jun 17, 2013
cordoba
450
like
01/07/16 06:29 AM (3 years ago)
@sarahk is that ok?

I'm a little lost :l
 
sarahk
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 155
Reg: Jul 16, 2014
Auckland
10,250
like
01/07/16 08:55 PM (3 years ago)
Yep, that's what you need to change - and you need to have a copy of the config file in that location.
 
Andrusito
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jun 17, 2013
cordoba
450
like
01/11/16 06:21 AM (3 years ago)
If I want to do some changes on any navbar title (for example).. can I just edit the BT_config.txt file located at my server?
 
sarahk
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 155
Reg: Jul 16, 2014
Auckland
10,250
like
01/11/16 04:14 PM (3 years ago)
Yes but take a backup first. You don't want to find you've ballsed it up :)
 
Andrusito
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jun 17, 2013
cordoba
450
like
01/12/16 06:13 AM (3 years ago)
I've tried doing some changes on the config file at my server, but the changes are not appearing on the app. Why is that?

It will work only when my membership is canceled?

Thanks!!
 
sarahk
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 155
Reg: Jul 16, 2014
Auckland
10,250
like
01/13/16 06:01 PM (3 years ago)
You said earlier that you've moved the config file onto another server. That means that you have to copy your changes over to that file also.

Just from reading your questions I would suggest that you aren't quite ready to fly solo yet. I'd have a good look at your business model and see if you can justify both your time and the membership fee and get signed up again.
 
Andrusito
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 45
Reg: Jun 17, 2013
cordoba
450
like
01/14/16 06:09 AM (3 years ago)
"That means that you have to copy your changes over to that file also."

That's what I did: I directly edit the config file uploaded to my server, and the app doesn't show that change/edition!

Why is that? if I've already set the new config file location in my panel: http://imgur.com/pEFcWfg
 
sarahk
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 155
Reg: Jul 16, 2014
Auckland
10,250
like
01/14/16 11:00 PM (3 years ago)
Your screenshot doesn't prove anything
Can you tell us what you changed and give us a link to your new config file?
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.