Discussion Forums  >  Uncategorized

Replies: 8    Views: 127

scubabermuda
I hate code!
Reg: Feb 07, 2012
Dallas
02/07/12 05:28 PM (12 years ago)

Creating an App for telephone rates

Hi, Going to throw a curve ball here not sure if this is even possible. I must warn you I am not a programmer or have any knowledge with html or programming. So please bare with me. I provide long distance services in the US. I am trying to create an application where someone could put in a 6 digit area code, then after pressing like maybe a submit button, it would display the corresponding rate for that 6 digit combination. For example, I could have a box where the user could type 212200, press look-up, then the app would provide a rate for that 6 digit exchange or combination of numbers. Any ideas? Is this even possible? Were talking about 150k different rates. Thanks.

MacApple
Apple Fan
Reg: Oct 25, 2010
USA
02/07/12 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Totally possible. You say you are not a programmer but are you willing to learn a wee bit and have a huge payoff? I'm assuming since you said 'you are' that you have this data stored in a DB or something at the moment? You are on the right road, you'll have a form where the user submits the code of their choice, the code then queries your database and posts back the result. Job done.

scubabermuda
I hate code!
Dallas
02/07/12 05:35 PM (12 years ago)
The data is compiled in an excel spreadsheet. 2 columns, 6 digit number and rate. Column A would contain the number and column b the rate. Yes I am very much willing to learn. I do not have the rates in a database of any kind. Would not even know where to begin with that. I appreciate your encouragement.

GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
02/07/12 05:40 PM (12 years ago)