Discussion Forums  >  Capturing Images, Uploading Data

Replies: 19    Views: 1482

Biplov
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 97
Reg: Mar 01, 2012
Eindhoven
4,120
03/12/12 04:37 PM (11 years ago)

.exe file in app

Is it possible to embed .exe file as a menu item and run it when user selects the menu?
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 04:45 PM (11 years ago)
What is the .exec file? Fred
 
Biplov
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 97
Reg: Mar 01, 2012
Eindhoven
4,120
like
03/12/12 04:47 PM (11 years ago)
executable file. For example when u install something you run *.exe file which extracts all the files and installs the software in your computer.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 05:00 PM (11 years ago)
I know what a .exe file is, your question is 'embed .exe file in menu'. Perhaps you wish to launch a native app, if so see Launch Native App plugin for details. In Android the launching of an app is with the .apk, for iOS it's an .ipa Fred
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 06:11 PM (11 years ago)
Here is a little blurb I wrote about the different file types: A .EXE file is usually for Microsoft Windows Personal Computers (PCs). .EXE's normally run on an i368 processor, and .IPA's usually run on an ARMv6 or ARMv7 processor. If the iPhone were capable of running Microsoft Windows, then running a .EXE installer file would be possible. Another thought: Apple might not like the fact that it has to install 2 times on the device, they might think of it being confusing to a user. I hope this clears up some confusion. Jake
 
Paul Rogers
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 2524
Reg: May 30, 2011
UK
35,740
like
03/12/12 07:07 PM (11 years ago)
Presumeably then, an .exe could install in a windows phone?
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 07:14 PM (11 years ago)
Possibly, but I do not think so. Mac App's are .APP and iOS are .IPA. Windows could not be the same.
 
GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 8197
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
1,000,000
like
03/12/12 07:39 PM (11 years ago)
Windows phone apps come in .XAP packages. Mark
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 08:46 PM (11 years ago)
BlackBerry in .bar Does anyone know about Kindle? Fred
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 10:37 PM (11 years ago)
I believe that Amazon calls Kindle Format 8 KF8, and it used to be MOBI: http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=UTF8&docId=1000729511 Can Android apps publish to the Kindle Fire?
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 11:05 PM (11 years ago)
apparently so. Fred
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 11:07 PM (11 years ago)
I tried to run one of my Android apps on my test device, it worked, but the store tells me that it won't run, and when I tried to download it on the Kindle Fire, it did not seem to have the same App Store/Marketplace. One day it will be possible that all devices will be able to run all of the same apps. One (either Android or iOS) will emerge as the true champion of the mobile world.
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 11:29 PM (11 years ago)
You can sideload Andriod app to Kindle (Outside the Amazon Market) or resign for distribution for Android Market. Fred
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 11:31 PM (11 years ago)
But can you load Android 4.0 on it? Jake
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/12/12 11:35 PM (11 years ago)
Don't know if there's any limitations, I did look it up but I've forgotten. Mainly it was limitations regarding features. Fred
 
Jake Chasan
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 1685
Reg: May 13, 2011
location unknow...
29,650
like
03/12/12 11:39 PM (11 years ago)
Just like when the original iPad was released, very limited but now it has many great features.
 
Biplov
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 97
Reg: Mar 01, 2012
Eindhoven
4,120
like
03/13/12 02:11 AM (11 years ago)
Sorry guys I'm amateur on this things. My main question is: Considering that I'm trying to build an android app, I have screen called games or something which has list of games in it. If someone chooses for example colorchange then i have a .exe file which i'd like to run when user selects that option. Is that possible?
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/13/12 07:52 AM (11 years ago)
You won't be able to run an .exe file. You can launch a game or another app with the Launch Native App Plugin. You'll have to learn how this is similar to what you wish to do and how it's different. The app won't be able to figure it out for you. Fred
 
Biplov
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 97
Reg: Mar 01, 2012
Eindhoven
4,120
like
03/13/12 07:53 AM (11 years ago)
Just wondering. Do you have that plugin?
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
03/13/12 09:16 AM (11 years ago)
The plugin is available from the Buzztouch site. Who ever set up the server (administrator) need to upload the plugin if they haven't. Remember a Plugin is not something you add to the app. A plugin is something you use to create the app. The plugin is added to the server. The plugin allows you to add screens to the app. Fred
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.