Discussion Forums  >  BT.com Website, Account Questions

Replies: 19    Views: 181

mrDavid
BTMods.com
Profile
Posts: 3936
Reg: May 21, 2011
San Diego, CA
51,910
02/05/13 02:22 PM (11 years ago)

Need help implimenting an idea

Hi all, I have a client that wants to have a "map" of an area, and then you tap on the buildings to get more information (we can just link that to another screen easy) - but the hard part is that "interactive" map idea. What would be awesome is to have a image of whatever map they give me, whether it is a real map or a cartoonish map, and have pins placed on them that link to screens - no idea how to do that. I even thought of a button menu with invisible buttons on top of the map, but that might get a little too tricky depending on the map they send me. Any suggestions would be super appreciated. You guys rock. David https://buzztouchmods.com
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
like
02/05/13 02:25 PM (11 years ago)
Are you talking about iOS or Android? Have you taken a look at stackoverflow yet for a solution?
 
mrDavid
BTMods.com
Profile
Posts: 3936
Reg: May 21, 2011
San Diego, CA
51,910
like
02/05/13 02:29 PM (11 years ago)
iOS only, and nope, rather get my advice from you guys before using other sites, maybe someone here can use the same solution in the future :-) David https://buzztouchmods.com
 
Calypso Kid
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 780
Reg: Mar 09, 2012
Upstate New Yor...
18,200
like
02/05/13 02:32 PM (11 years ago)
How about a word doc with a collage of the map in many seperate pics lined up togeather to look like one pic on a word doc. Each picture would have a link attached to it and when the user touches a building of point of interest, the link brings them to another page. .... Just thinking out loud.... Don't know if it can be easily done
 
theMonster
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 435
Reg: Oct 18, 2011
US
8,050
like
02/05/13 02:33 PM (11 years ago)
Are you using a framework? If your just using an image and know where the buildings are, just through uibuttons on the image via IB or androids version of IB (interface builder). If your using an image but it needs to be dynamic, download a set of points of the locations of the houses and throw uibuttons (invisible) down programatically with addSubview. If you need more help with iOS just PM me. -tM
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
02/05/13 02:41 PM (11 years ago)
I create Garmin compatible maps for our region. Huge maps get broken into 'tiles', but if you don't have some software to clip/catalog/reassign your map tiles then you may run into issues You might think about defining the entire map area as a 'region' and then depending on what area of the screen/map they tapped would dictate what (if anything) would occur. Hot spot definitions could have a 'radius' of effective tap area, etcetera... Invisible buttons could work as well, but I don't think the menu buttons plugin would cut it. It would probably need to be a custom screen of some nature. Just my $0.02 Cheers! -- Smug
 
andydahl
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 209
Reg: Jul 20, 2011
Villa Grove
4,540
like
02/05/13 02:42 PM (11 years ago)
You might want to look at Hype for Mac. It's actually 1/2 price today here: http://deals.macupdate.com/ Think Flash animations, but iOS device friendly. Using HTML5 Good luck! Andy
 
AlanMac
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 2612
Reg: Mar 05, 2012
Esher, UK
37,120
like
02/05/13 02:55 PM (11 years ago)
If I understood you correctly, this html technique might do it http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/imagemap.shtml
 
MGoBlue
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 980
Reg: Jun 07, 2011
Gold River, CA
10,600
like
02/05/13 03:05 PM (11 years ago)
Hey David, Here's a good article on the idea. I was looking at doing something for a client too. Haven't tried this yet. http://i.ndigo.com.br/2012/05/ios-maps-with-image-overlays/ Jeff
 
SheriDee
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1094
Reg: Sep 23, 2011
location unknow...
22,840
like
02/05/13 03:33 PM (11 years ago)
@MrDavid Brilliant idea. Something to might consider is using Aurasma plugin too. @McGoBlue nice to see your smile!
 
MGoBlue
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 980
Reg: Jun 07, 2011
Gold River, CA
10,600
like
02/05/13 03:36 PM (11 years ago)
Thanks @Sheri. Good to be back.
 
Outbreak
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 452
Reg: May 30, 2011
Colorado
14,620
like
02/05/13 03:59 PM (11 years ago)
Have the client make their own "my places" in google maps. Have a link in your app to this. It will open up maps and all of that other info can be linked via their pins. Or you can make a kml that pulls up Google Earth when clicked.
 
Niraj
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2943
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,930
like
02/05/13 11:27 PM (11 years ago)
If you have a custom "map", such as an internal layout within a building, see if MapBox will be suitable. At first, you can try with their MapBox app for iOS to validate your points and layers by using TileMill to generate the custom maps. Then implement within your app with their iOS SDK. http://www.MapBox.com -- Niraj
 
ATRAIN53
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1755
Reg: Nov 17, 2011
Chicago
26,450
like
02/06/13 08:18 AM (11 years ago)
Hooray! @MGoBlue!! now that's exciting to see :) and then bringing the goods with that mkmapview tutorial. and you wonder why we would have missed you. great tutorial. I am going to tear into that in the near future, looks solid. @mgo We've got a guy around here named kittsy that is a really, really good at integrating these into BT code. IIRC he is working with some map code and I bet will find this interesting too! betcha can't wait for March madness! Burke looks SOLID!
 
ATRAIN53
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1755
Reg: Nov 17, 2011
Chicago
26,450
like
02/06/13 08:21 AM (11 years ago)
@mrdavid - how soon? does that tutorial look doable to you? I need to study it a bit more but if you want to discuss this.....
 
mrDavid
BTMods.com
Profile
Posts: 3936
Reg: May 21, 2011
San Diego, CA
51,910
like
02/06/13 08:26 AM (11 years ago)
Thanks to everyone for your ideas, trying to figure out which one is the best, but definetley @MGoBlue that's exactly what I need - if I can impliment it is a whole different thing! @atrain let's discuss! call me / text me. Thanks again all! Cheers, David https://buzztouchmods.com
 
ATRAIN53
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1755
Reg: Nov 17, 2011
Chicago
26,450
like
02/06/13 09:14 AM (11 years ago)
We can implement that ;) Let me look at it closer later today, maybe on my way home I'll study it and we'll catch up tomorrow? Gotta finish some real work up today and want to get into that 2.1.8 upgrade while I'm in the office.
 
mrDavid
BTMods.com
Profile
Posts: 3936
Reg: May 21, 2011
San Diego, CA
51,910
like
02/06/13 09:19 AM (11 years ago)
@atrain thanks a ton. Yup connect tomorrow then, I will be up ALL NIGHT upgrading 20+ servers to 2.1.8, I'm probably the only one ecstatic about AND dreading the release LOL. p.s. if we get this figured out we need to release a guide or plugin or something so others can do this too. Cheers, David https://buzztouchmods.com
 
MGoBlue
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 980
Reg: Jun 07, 2011
Gold River, CA
10,600
like
02/06/13 11:02 AM (11 years ago)
@ATrain can't wait to see what you and @MrDavid come up with. I haven't had time to play with the tutorial, but it looks solid. Yes, bring on March Madness. Great game last night.
 
nadthevlad
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1025
Reg: Jun 07, 2012
Denver
21,850
like
02/08/13 08:12 AM (11 years ago)
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.