Discussion Forums  >  Status Bar, Navigation Bar

Replies: 25    Views: 227

funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
08/11/12 07:56 PM (11 years ago)

Menu list titles cut off

I've successfully created my first BT 2.0 Android app and have one seemingly minor issue. My home page is a menu simple list with 5 rows. The problem is the lettering in the words is half cut-off horizontally. This only displays as a problem on my Samsung Galaxy 2, but the rows show fine in the emulator. Any thoughts on what setting would correct this? Hopefully, this image link works: https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/107698040380384462903/albums/5775599187374925105/5775599188448917346?hl=en
 
ictguy
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 564
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Mildura, Austra...
15,840
like
08/11/12 11:45 PM (11 years ago)
It seems a little strange, the defaults normally work fine. Have you changed any of the advanced properties in the "List Row Height, Font Size" section? (it'll be further down the page when you configure the menu screen)
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 12:08 AM (11 years ago)
No, I checked that and tried different values, but it didn't seem to have any effect. All the fields are blank at the moment.
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 12:19 AM (11 years ago)
Dup
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
like
08/12/12 01:05 AM (11 years ago)
@funkydrummer- Actually you should not be facing this sort of strange error at all. Open BT_screen_menuListSimple.java file on eclipse and check settings relating to the listRowHeight, listTitleHeight and listTitleFontSize for both large and small devices which start from the line number 144 or something. You will find there default values for each of the three items mentioned above. Try tweaking each one by one for small device by reducing the default number and see whether you get lucky in solving this problem. Do tell how it goes.
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 01:19 AM (11 years ago)
Below looks like the section you mean. Do I need to export the package and install to the device again when I edit the values? I will try it. //small devices... listRowHeight = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listRowHeightSmallDevice", "50")); listTitleHeight = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listTitleHeightSmallDevice", "50")); listTitleFontSize = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listTitleFontSizeSmallDevice", "22"));
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
like
08/12/12 01:21 AM (11 years ago)
Yes you do to export the package and reinstall it on the device again.
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 01:29 AM (11 years ago)
I set all the values to 10 and reinstalled. Nothing changed, unfortunately. listRowHeight = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listRowHeightSmallDevice", "10")); listTitleHeight = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listTitleHeightSmallDevice", "10")); listTitleFontSize = Integer.parseInt(BT_strings.getStyleValueForScreen(this.screenData, "listTitleFontSizeSmallDevice", "10"));
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
like
08/12/12 01:31 AM (11 years ago)
No, i asked you to change the values one by one and not to change all of those values at the same time. Like first try changing the font size and keep the row height and title height to default. This will probably fix the problem.
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 01:39 AM (11 years ago)
I did try one of the values first and didn't change. I will try each one. Confirmed: No change to view when changing each value singularly.
 
mrDavid
BTMods.com
Profile
Posts: 3936
Reg: May 21, 2011
San Diego, CA
51,910
like
08/12/12 10:49 AM (11 years ago)
Are you saving/cleaning/recompiling/ seeing the latest version for sure? Cheers, David. buzztouchmods.com
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 11:06 AM (11 years ago)
I confirmed that the new packages were applied to the phone properly, but no changes Also, I just discovered something new. The phone display settings has a Font Size option. I had this set to Large. When I set it to Normal, the text got smaller, but letters like the 'p' and 'y' are still cut off. When I select Small, the full letters are shown. So, this appears to be a combination of things: 1) The phone font size setting appears to override the java code. The interesting thing is that the text in the menu title area doesn't change size when the phone setting is changed. Is there something the menu title text is doing to override the phone setting that the row titles are not? Something here could be why the above code changes wouldn't work. 2) The black 'bar' should still not be there since even on Normal the letters are being covered. Still not sure what is creating the overlapped appearance and covering the letters. I think an answer to #1 would help to adjust the height/size settings properly and remove the overlap.
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
like
08/12/12 12:14 PM (11 years ago)
Oh cant believe that the phone settings override the app's settings. Nice to know that you somehow managed to figure this out and inform us all about it. Valuable piece of knowledge.
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/12/12 01:43 PM (11 years ago)
I know, now if anyone has an idea how to resolve it, I would be most appreciative :). I will dig around the code later and see if I can figure it out.
 
piggilypoo
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 172
Reg: Jun 28, 2011
San Diego
5,120
like
08/17/13 12:01 PM (10 years ago)
Some of my android users using specific samsung phones are having this same issue, while in my emulator it looks fine. Did you ever find a fix?
 
funkydrummer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 11
Reg: Aug 03, 2012
Sammamish
3,310
like
08/17/13 01:14 PM (10 years ago)
No, I gave up. Let me know if you figure it out.
 
Sandeep
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 1260
Reg: Feb 01, 2012
Miraj, India
25,250
like
08/17/13 01:44 PM (10 years ago)
The work on new android core project by David is almost over. It will be launched for public within 2-3 weeks. You guys will be amazed with it and hope this problem too gets fixed.
 
aikashi
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 27
Reg: Jul 01, 2013
Ohio
270
like
09/07/13 10:27 AM (10 years ago)
I am having this issue it arises only in phones having bigger display such as HTC one, Galaxy S4, anybody found a fix?
 
aikashi
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 27
Reg: Jul 01, 2013
Ohio
270
like
09/07/13 10:28 AM (10 years ago)
I am having this issue it arises only in phones having bigger display such as HTC one, Galaxy S4, anybody found a fix?
 
hamer
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 16
Reg: Aug 29, 2013
Arlington
2,210
like
10/05/13 10:53 PM (10 years ago)
I'm having this problem using Android 3 on Droid Bionic, Galaxy S3 and Note 2. Simple Menu List font and row height will not change. Also, font and button size will not change on the Menu Button screen.
 
peterj
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 113
Reg: Jun 19, 2011
location unknow...
6,630
like
10/18/13 01:19 PM (10 years ago)
I also just found this issue on an S4. I am using the Menu with Image plugin, and the Menu Simple plugin. The Menu with image screens are fine, but all of my Menu Simple screens have the lower half of the text cut off.
 
cpmilez
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 63
Reg: Jan 03, 2012
Ipswich, UK
6,030
like
11/17/13 07:32 AM (10 years ago)
Also just came across the same issue with my Nexus5. It was ok before on the nexus4 but a bigger screen on the nexus5. I tried a test with a new build using Buzztouch 3 for Android but still have the same problem unfortunately. I have found however that menu with images plugin is ok and displays the font size correctly and doesn't get cut off. The bug for me is within the simple menu plugin only :-| I will see if I compare any differences with the menu item code sections but I am new to Android development and have limited java knowledge so it may prove tricky.
 
cpmilez
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 63
Reg: Jan 03, 2012
Ipswich, UK
6,030
like
11/17/13 08:18 AM (10 years ago)
Ok maybe easier than I thought tho early days as I've only tested on my Nexus 5. Fix for me was to comment out this line.. From getView method in BT_screen_menuListSimple.java //titleView.setHeight(listRowHeight); If anyone else with the same problem can try this and test in their app on their device it would be great to get feed back.
 
techd
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 44
Reg: Sep 17, 2012
Cleveland
440
like
01/14/15 06:25 AM (9 years ago)
Did anyone find out how to solve the problem with the menus getting cut off? Did commenting out the line like cpmillez fix it on all phones? I have several people that said the menus on their phones are like this. One phone was the LG G3.
 
stewdesignjts
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 18
Reg: Jan 05, 2015
huntsville al
2,830
like
01/15/15 11:02 AM (9 years ago)
it worked for me to fix it on a droid turbo by doing what cpmilez did (commenting out the row height line) Jason
 
Susan Metoxen
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 1706
Reg: May 01, 2011
Hopkins, Minnes...
26,260
like
08/06/15 02:06 PM (8 years ago)
Say, I ran into this today. Is there a solution? It is hard for me to test because none of my devices have this problem. If there is a solution, I can upload the correction.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.