Discussion Forums  >  Plugins, Customizing, Source Code

Replies: 5    Views: 98

Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2938
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,880
12/22/13 12:56 PM (6 years ago)

Solved: Login plugin error with appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser

Problem: Compile errors with rootUser code within the Login Plugin


In What: BT v3 core, Login plugin


When: Happens directly after preparing BT v3 iOS 7 project for download, dragging the BT_Plugins and BT_Images into the Xcode Project, and then compiling the code.

Happens when one checks all the plugins to be included in the download of the project. Even if you are not actually using that particular plugin (yet).


Solution: Remove the notation for ".rootApp". (notice leading period dot)

Do it for all six errors


-------------

BEFORE:

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserId:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userGuid"]];

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserDisplayName:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userDisplayName"]];

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserEmail:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userEmail"]];

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserLogInId:[text_loginId text]];

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserLogInPassword:[text_password text]];

[appDelegate.rootApp.rootUser setUserIsLoggedIn:@"1"];


-----------

AFTER:

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserId:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userGuid"]];

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserDisplayName:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userDisplayName"]];

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserEmail:[[jsonData objectForKey:@"result"] objectForKey:@"userEmail"]];

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserLogInId:[text_loginId text]];

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserLogInPassword:[text_password text]];

[appDelegate.rootUser setUserIsLoggedIn:@"1"];


------------

Best fortune!

-- Niraj
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
12/22/13 02:23 PM (6 years ago)
In other source code I've also noticed "rootApp" causes errors. Specifically:

appDelegate.rootApp.rootDevice.deviceLatitude (or deviceLongitude, etc)

should be changed to:

appDelegate.rootDevice.deviceLatitude

Cheers!

-- Smug
 
Susan Metoxen
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 1702
Reg: May 01, 2011
Hopkins, Minnes...
26,220
like
12/22/13 06:31 PM (6 years ago)
Thanks, Niraj!
 
NCbuzz
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 575
Reg: Sep 11, 2013
Lillington, NC
11,100
like
01/04/14 11:10 AM (6 years ago)
Thanks Niraj - Fixed those 6 errors!

Just started trying v3 after waiting with BTv2. Thought I had waited long enough, but not yet... ;)

Question for the group: How do we know when BTv3 bugs are fixed? (Other than when we download and determine if edits are needed again.)
 
Niraj Shah
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 2938
Reg: Jul 11, 2012
Cerritos
37,880
like
01/04/14 11:15 AM (6 years ago)
This is the nature of software and our bodies -- both will always have problems. :-)

Keep reporting problems after you have done your own investigation.

This is the official bug report for BT v3, you will also find solutions and links to other posts in that discussion.

https://www.buzztouch.com/forum/thread.php?tid=D338F2E753F112233012AD7

-- Niraj
 
NCbuzz
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 575
Reg: Sep 11, 2013
Lillington, NC
11,100
like
01/04/14 01:07 PM (6 years ago)
Cool. Thanks for the link
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.