Michael Travis
Aspiring developer
Reg: Jan 24, 2013
Baton Rouge, LA
08/22/13 10:23 AM (10 years ago)

Question about JSON Snippet Keeper and the build process

I am new at creating apps and I have been doing a lot of research here on BT and other forums. My goal is to create both the IOS and Android version of all my apps I create. It is my understanding that IOS uses Objective-C with Java and Android is based upon JAVA. If this is correct then if I use a plugin that is only has IOS code can I take the JSON data generated in the config file by that plugin and use it with JSON Snippet Keeper to create the Android equivalent? This doesn't seem possible but I have to ask because I am really confused at how the JSON is used with each platform.

LA
Aspiring developer
Reg: Aug 16, 2012
Jerseyville, IL
08/22/13 10:44 AM (10 years ago)
Hi @JoeCool, Short answer, no! Objective C is totally different than Java in Android. It's best practice to create two Apps for both. With that being said, you can use the JSON Keeper for different screens in each App. I have the JSON Keeper but still trying to get the grasp on it all together. I might be wrong here and will admit my mistake in guiding you here. Hope this helps some! LA

GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
08/22/13 10:51 AM (10 years ago)
Hey @JoeCool, LA is correct, you cannot just use JSON to generate a screen. There have to be either Objective C or Java plugin files to deal with the parameters that you find in the JSON. The JSON simply defines the configuration of the screen, which is then created by the plugin code itself. So, unless the plugin provides both .m/.h and .java files, then you're limited to just the platform it supports. Make sense? Mark

Michael Travis
Aspiring developer
Reg: Jan 24, 2013
Baton Rouge, LA
08/22/13 11:08 AM (10 years ago)
@LA Thanks for your reply. @GoNorthwest That makes sense. A screen with out controls would just be a screen.

LA
Aspiring developer