Summer Weather
Aspiring developer
Reg: Nov 18, 2011
Newport Beach, ...
01/28/15 10:54 AM (9 years ago)

Android Privacy Permissions / Terms of Use

I have a published Android App on the Google Play store (La Paz Intermediate) Link: http://bit.ly/1DaWQv3 I've been programming for 3 years and I just started building apps in November. I use Eclipse 4.4 for Mac OS X. The iOS App has been approved and my client likes it. However, my client doesn't like how the Android app has so many needed permissions. I'm not collecting any data with my apps. Just simple apps showing school information. I want my app to work like the UCLA app(screenshot can be seen with link above) where there are no special permissions required. Or at the very least, does anyone know how I can make the list of permissions shorter. I do have a Terms of Use document embedded in the home screen of my app. I am using a Terms of Use I modified from somewhere else. Does anyone know a good Tech attorney that I can use to create a Terms of Use and Privacy Policy for me? As always, thanks Buzztouch community for an amazing app building experience!

rburns50
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: May 12, 2014
Bilston - Engla...
01/28/15 11:25 AM (9 years ago)
Within Eclipse, if you open up the Android manifest - there is a tab for "permissions". By default this will include a raft of permissions you maybe do not need/require. I generally open that tab and selectively remove the ones I know I do not need; testing as I go to make sure the app still functions - until I have the minimum needed. Hope that helps.

GoNorthWest
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Jun 24, 2011
Oro Valley, AZ
01/28/15 11:45 AM (9 years ago)