Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
11/22/13 03:37 PM (10 years ago)

Where/How to add Scringo to iOS 3.0 core?

I'm having some trouble getting Scringo going with the new iOS core. I know before it was as easy as adding it to the bottom of the "configureEnvironmentUsingAppData" method, but that method no longer exists in the delegate. I did find that same method in the new loadConfigDataViewController implementation but it doesn't seem to work anymore. Now no matter where I put the Scringo code, my app is completely unresponsive when I launch it (this is a tab layout) Has anybody gotten Scringo up and running with the new core?
 
Cakebit
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 500
Reg: Dec 15, 2010
In your local b...
16,500
like
11/22/13 04:03 PM (10 years ago)
@Absentia, I have been working on it :D You need to put this line of code [ScringoAgent startSession:@"Your App ID Between These Quotes" locationManager:nil]; in your App Delegate under didFinishLaunchingWithOptions.
 
Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
like
11/22/13 04:28 PM (10 years ago)
That solution works for you with 3.0? I've tried it and my app is still unresponsive
 
Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
like
11/22/13 05:01 PM (10 years ago)
ok, kind of random, but I got it working for my app - keep in mind this probably just works for tabbed apps... In the app delegate inside of the tabBarController method, I put this code right at the top - //init Scringo agent... [Scringo initWithAppId:@"MY_APP_ID" completion:nil]; [Scringo addSidebar:self.window toLeft:YES]; [ScringoAgent pauseSwipe]; So, apparently there were a few Scringo changes I missed. To initialize Scringo, the correct code is now [Scringo initWithAppId:@"MY_APP_ID" completion:nil]; as opposed to the old code which was [ScringoAgent startSession:@"MY_APP_ID" locationManager:nil]; Also, as far as I can tell, we now need to actually implement the following code - [Scringo addSidebar:self.window toLeft:YES]; - or else there just won't be a sidebar
 
Cakebit
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 500
Reg: Dec 15, 2010
In your local b...
16,500
like
11/22/13 05:20 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmm... Scringo made some very interesting changes! Do you have to add [Scringo addSidebar:self.window toLeft:YES]; to App Delegate or the each plugin?
 
Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
like
11/22/13 05:31 PM (10 years ago)
I just add it to the delegate and it works for every screen
 
Cakebit
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 500
Reg: Dec 15, 2010
In your local b...
16,500
like
11/22/13 05:32 PM (10 years ago)
Thanks! I'm redownloading my source code and going to try again!
 
piggilypoo
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 172
Reg: Jun 28, 2011
San Diego
5,120
like
11/22/13 06:23 PM (10 years ago)
I've been having issues integrating the newest version of scringo as well, cept on android. Havent tried iOS yet. Havent been able to get it to place nice with my buzztouch app since version 2.3.5 We need an updated install guide! :)
 
CMCOFFEE
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 2017
Reg: Jan 04, 2013
Amarillo, Texas
26,670
like
11/22/13 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
Cool didnt work in my non tabbed layout. Where would you add the facebook code
 
Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
like
11/23/13 11:56 PM (10 years ago)
not sure about the non-tab layout..there is a "getNavigationController" method in the app delegate (do an Xcode search for it) - you could try adding it in there and see how it goes as far as the Facebook code goes - once you figure out where to put the "initWithAppId" code...you'll probably be fine putting the Facebook code right after that Somebody from Scringo should be sending me an eMail tomorrow with a bit more info on this
 
Ofer
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 54
Reg: Apr 06, 2013
Tel Aviv
540
like
11/24/13 03:04 AM (10 years ago)
 
guyfeder
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 14
Reg: May 07, 2013
Ramat-Gan
140
like
11/24/13 04:50 AM (10 years ago)
Hi all, Scringo's documentation was updated to accommodate with recent Buzztouch platform changes. Please take a look at http://docs.scringo.com/buzztouch/ios-integration/#Init . Do let us know at [email protected] if you encounter any issue with it.
 
Cakebit
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 500
Reg: Dec 15, 2010
In your local b...
16,500
like
11/24/13 09:18 AM (10 years ago)
Thank you Scringo Devs!
 
Cakebit
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 500
Reg: Dec 15, 2010
In your local b...
16,500
like
11/24/13 04:39 PM (10 years ago)
@Absentia, Can you show me where you are putting the code? I have been working with both your comments and Scringo's documentation... it's throwing Sigbart at me :(
 
guyfeder
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 14
Reg: May 07, 2013
Ramat-Gan
140
like
11/25/13 12:18 AM (10 years ago)
@CakeBit, If you like, you can contact us on [email protected] with the details of the problem you are facing and we'll do our best to fix it. If it is relevant to the community, we'll publish it also in the forum ...
 
guyfeder
Veteran developer
Profile
Posts: 14
Reg: May 07, 2013
Ramat-Gan
140
like
11/25/13 12:46 AM (10 years ago)
Sorry, resent my message ...
 
Absentia
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 960
Reg: Oct 20, 2011
Alaska
20,600
like
11/25/13 01:07 PM (10 years ago)
Just tried out the new documentation and it worked perfect for me...much better than my method @CakeBit - The tutorial screenshots show exactly where to put the code..I just followed those and everything worked fine. You do have the most recent SDK right?
 
CMCOFFEE
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 2017
Reg: Jan 04, 2013
Amarillo, Texas
26,670
like
12/04/13 06:18 PM (10 years ago)
how did you fix the being thrown sigbart?
 
shenry
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 469
Reg: Jan 10, 2012
Orange County, ...
13,390
like
12/06/13 08:23 PM (10 years ago)
@Absentia have you tried the new Scringo Chat plugin? It doesn't look BTv3 compliant to me, but maybe I'm missing something? http://s24.postimg.org/5bwiby7n9/scringoplugin.jpg Search and replace BT_NavController.h w/BT_navController.h causes lots more errors :(
 
mysps
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2082
Reg: May 14, 2011
Palma
33,320
like
01/03/14 08:16 AM (10 years ago)
@shenry, looks like the project above in the screenshot is a 2.0 project. It is missing the new layout files.
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.