Vincenk
buzztouch Evangelist
Reg: Aug 10, 2013
BROOKLYN
08/14/13 10:12 PM (10 years ago)

Question about getting my test app to work

Hi there, I’m pretty new to app building business. It is great that I can find buzztouch when I adventure my first step into this unknown territory. I like buzztouch’s idea to make the source codes available to users, which is very helpful to newbies like me. Following google’s app building instruction, I’ve already setup my coding environment (Eclipse&ADT) and got my “hello world” successfully installed and run on my cellphone. However, when I downloaded source code of the app that I built through buzztouch and tried to open it with Eclipse, I encountered several problems: 1)In the instruction.pdf that comes with source code package, It says “When you choose New > Android Project a dialogue (pop-up-window) will open.” , and the window shoule be like the picture below http://nylbcsbc.org/images/111.png But, what I got is totally different: http://nylbcsbc.org/images/222.png And thoughout the whole “new app” wizard, I didn’t see any option to “create project from exsiting source” 2) Now I tried to import the downloaded source code by myself. Firstly I copy the source codes into a folder in my eclipse workspace folder, then I right click “package explorer” view and chose “import”, in the popup dialogue window I chose Android-> existing android code Into workspace). In the popup “Import Projects” window, I browse to workspace folder and check the project and click “finish” http://nylbcsbc.org/images/333.png But an error wanring showed up saying “invalid project description”. 3)Then I checked ‘Copy project into workspace’ and clicked finish again, this time the import seemed to be completed, but there are errors in some of the source codes which prevented me from compiling. I provide some of the error info here, 1. “GeoPoint cannot be solved to a type” – BT_item.java, line 20 2. “the method setPluginsEnabled(boolean) is undefined for the