Discussion Forums  >  Uncategorized

Replies: 73    Views: 1073

ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
03/16/11 12:17 AM (13 years ago)

sounds

is there a way to make a screen of labeled buttons that you can assign sounds to? use menu buttons as a kind of sampler? like how the tab buttons along the bottom make a sound...curious...thanks!!
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
03/16/11 12:44 AM (13 years ago)
actually, it's not too bad sending it back to it's own button menu screen (using the button sound effects feature) ...works but still loads a screen..BT SAMPLER!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
03/16/11 01:06 AM (13 years ago)
Hee hee. I was thinking about a little drum-machine thing awhile back. It's doable but consider this... the sounds have to be 'just right' or it doesn't work too good because of some latency issues with playing sound files that have evey the slightest amount of 'quite space' at the start. To use your own sounds... look at the App Delegate.m file and see where all the sound effects are initialized. I think the method is initSoundEffets() This runs when the app first loads so all the sound-effect files are prepared and ready to play before anything else loads. It does take a moment to load this way but makes for better performance. Nothing lamer than a delayed sound effect. So...add your own sound files to BT_audio folder, then add them to this list so they initialize when the app launches. Cool.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
03/16/11 01:30 AM (13 years ago)
cool thanks! is there any way to stay on the screen? so it just plays the sound effects
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
03/16/11 09:22 AM (13 years ago)
not really. Buttons and menu items that are connected to sound effects are also connected to 'the next screen' so don't think this will work.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
03/16/11 11:09 AM (13 years ago)
it's working pretty well as is...i made a pitch pipe for a vocal app in v1.5...thanks again....and again
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
03/16/11 12:11 PM (13 years ago)
Neat!! if i put in an mp3 file that doesn't exist it doesn't open up the audio player just plays the sound effect! cool!!
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/11/11 11:59 PM (12 years ago)
HI Dave, I downloaded the new Schooner source code and now my little audio sampler page acts differently...what i was doing was adding my audio to BT audio folder then adding them to the sound effects list in the app delegate.m file...then in the BT online control panel i put in a fake nonexistant audio file so it wouldn't pull up the audio screen and just play the audio sample from the button assigned to the audio...but after the schooner update it overrides this and shows the audio player screen anyway...is there a way to get it to do this again? the pitch pipe i made was working awesome and a big selling point in my app...app is Voice Lesson app v1.5 thanks so much for all your work and advice!! love all new new updates...cheers!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/12/11 12:18 AM (12 years ago)
Can't think off the top of my head what may have broken this. Hmm.. Audio in the BT_audio folder... OK. Adding them to sound effect list... OK again (althought this could hog-up some serious memory on underpowered devices if you have tons of sounds?). Whatever. LOL. fake audio-file in the control panel, where are you entering this? I'm confused as to how it would be able to 'play the audio from the button' if the audio file was fake and non-exsistant? I'm guessing you have a button menu, and the buttons should only play sounds. Makes sense. If the buttons don't change often, and your up-for-it, it would be easy to just hard-code some logic that would ignore the screen-loading-B.S. associated with each button and instead just play sounds when the buttons were clicked. Just a simple adjustment to ignore the 'load screen' logic. Have a look at the BT_screen_menuButtons.m file. This method fires with every button tap -(void)launchScreen:(BT_item *)theMenuItem The menu-item object passed to this method (theMenuItem) 'knows' about it's sound effect, the name of the sound effect you entered in the control panel. This should be the name of the actual sound you want to play, not the fake one. So, we need to intercept the button click in this method and NOT run the handleTapToLoadScreen method. In fact, the line above that is useless too, we don't need to know anything about the 'screen' to load when the button is pressed because we don't want to load a screen. So, we just need to ask the app's delegate to play a sound effect assoicated with the button and do nothing else. Check your email, I sent you a file. Replace the launchScreen method in our BT_screen_menuButtons.m file with the method in the file I sent.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/12/11 12:36 AM (12 years ago)
Genius!! is there nothing you can't do? this app is coming out awesome...cheers!! p.s. almost done with my course on c then onto objective- c!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/12/11 12:44 AM (12 years ago)
Like I said before, we've got a job waiting for you. And, get pic in your profile! LOL. late, done for night.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/12/11 12:56 AM (12 years ago)
Does that mean i get to go sailing? wooohooo!! trying to upload profile pic...keeps saying trouble resizing even after trying different jpeg sizes
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/18/11 01:46 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David. Can you sent me how I will do the taping without loadingscreen in menuButtons?
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/18/11 09:27 AM (12 years ago)
@ Mackimack: Check your email. Look at the previous comment for info about using the code I emailed you.
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/19/11 12:42 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David. Thanx for the code it works great. I wonder if it possible to add a break or something? if you touch a button and that will play a sound, if push another button fast I want the first sound stop. Is this possible?
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/19/11 03:01 AM (12 years ago)
See if adding this right before the play sound method in your button click helps. I didn't test this. if(appDelegate.audioPlayer != nil){ [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; }
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 02:25 PM (12 years ago)
Hey David, what screen is this play sound method on? BT_screen_menuButtons.m ? BT_ screen _audio. m ? Wanted to test this but can't find it...thanks!! ps. if it's meant to go in the menuButtons.m screen where you adjusted the code for the button to play sound without launching screens it didn't seem to change anything...been trying it elsewhere..
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 03:19 PM (12 years ago)
Hey David, what screen is this play sound method on? BT_screen_menuButtons.m ? BT_ screen _audio. m ? Wanted to test this but can't find it...thanks!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/26/11 03:34 PM (12 years ago)
The method that actually plays the sound is in the app's delegate. [YOURAPPNAME]_appDelegate.m Starts on line 905: -(void)playSoundEffect:(NSString *)theFileName The idea is that this method is called from other files. This means you could do something like... [appDelegate playSoundEffect:@'myLoudBugle.mp3'); aywhere in the system, from any screen, after any menu tap.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 07:19 PM (12 years ago)
still having trouble placing this.. See if adding this right before the play sound method in your button click helps. I didn't test this. if(appDelegate.audioPlayer != nil){ [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; } tried figuring out where to place this...driving me nuts!! keep getting appDelegate undeclared wherever i think i have it placed right...hmmmm
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/26/11 09:22 PM (12 years ago)
Ah... I see. Yes, you cannot call (use) the app delegate methods from another screen without first creating a referenece to the app delegate instance. If you do, you'll get the appDelegate is undeclared message when compiling. Example Method 1 (this will not compile): -(void)doSomething{ [appDelegate doSomeMethodInTheAppDelegate]; } The reason is won't work is because the compiler doesn't have any idea what 'appDeleagte' is. Example Method 2 (this will compile): -(void)doSomething{ //create a reference to the applications delegate file YourAppName_appDelegate *appDelegate = (YourAppName_appDelegate *)[[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate]; //now call a method that is written in the app delegate.m file [appDelegate doSomeMethodInTheAppDelegate]; } you'll see references to your app's delegate file all over the place. If you see a [appDelegate doSomeMethod] in the code, you'll also see a reference to it above it somewhere. You will not see this reference anywhere in the appDelegate.m file because you don't need to create a reference to 'self'
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 09:40 PM (12 years ago)
thanks!! i didn't see any reference so i've been using my limited objective-c knowledge and was headed down this path...so i am learning!! thanks for the tips and guidance!!...will post my progress!! can't believe you can answer so many posts in such detail..cheers!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/26/11 09:55 PM (12 years ago)
It's what I do. My middle schooler graduated 8th grade tonight and one of his classmates played a nice piano tune. I sat the entire time thinking two things: a) how can that kid keep two seperate tempos, one for each hand. b) I wonder when Ian started playing the piano? All of us do something that others marvel at. Helping folks figure out iOS and Android is what I'm good at, what I enjoy, and what I do for a living (kind of). Speaking of middle schooler....off I go, Graduation Dance just ended and the texts have begun...'Dad, I need a ride!!!'
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 10:16 PM (12 years ago)
Ha!! yeah i started playing piano when i was a kid and was away from it for a while...didn't want to be a farmer in pennsylvania anymore so i moved to california a few years ago and started playing again and is now my full-time job...kinda cool...i actually was on complete vocal rest from too many shows and while i couldn't speak a word i came across buzztouch and built my Ian James Piano app...kinda kept me sane working on my buzztouch app while not being able to speak...then i got more curious and here we are talking about the actual code...love this stuff...keeps my busy brain working...and no texting while driving!! congrats on the graduate!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/26/11 10:20 PM (12 years ago)
no texting..too funy. :05 minute drive - back. Couldn't resist last post of the night after seeing the PA remark. Get this, my clan is ALL from Western PA. Slippery Rock, Portersville, New Castle area (rural), about 40 miles up the 79 from Pittsburgh. We visit at least once a year to tend the farm and visit the relatives. Literally a farm, I'm the landlord after inheriting 50 or so acres that been The Books since 1880. Good stuff. Night.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
05/26/11 10:27 PM (12 years ago)
Nice!! check out rittersfarmmarket.com (i'm in the giant corn suit, check out the pumpkin cannon firing) still going strong..just outside Scranton PA ...if the winters weren't so brutal!! gotta love Cali weather...cheers!!
 
Wiggen
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 3
Reg: Apr 09, 2011
Sweden
30
like
05/27/11 03:57 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David And Ianjamespiano. I do not understand how I shall put code to get the sound stops if I press another button. in I've tried to add your suggestion in appDelegate.m, but I get it not to work? whats wrong?
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/27/11 01:52 PM (12 years ago)
Hi David Wiggen its my friend and I help him with this to add soundbuttons. But we can not implement this code. We want the sound to stop when we hit a new button.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/27/11 11:17 PM (12 years ago)
@Mackimack @Wiggen: Have you been able to implement the [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; method? If not, what part of the logic don't you understand. Not sure where to advice. This thread has lots of info about where to add / adjust the source and it should be enough to guide you. Let me know if not and I'll continue to advise.
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/30/11 02:27 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David. we have put this code in appdelegate.m -(void)doSomething{ //create a reference to the applications delegate file YourAppName_appDelegate *appDelegate = (YourAppName_appDelegate *)[[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate]; //now call a method that is written in the app delegate.m file [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; } and then we put in this in Menubutton.m under LaunchScreen if(appDelegate.audioPlayer != nil){ [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; } it will not stop the sound if we touch another button.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/30/11 02:31 AM (12 years ago)
Then it sounds like you are trying to stop a sound NOT controlled by the audioPlayer in the delegate class. This player only plays sound effects, not audio like songs or recordings. What sound are you trying to stop on a button click? This entire thread is about stopping sound-effects, not streaming audio or background sounds set in Advanced Settings.
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/30/11 02:39 AM (12 years ago)
there is small sound of about 6 -10 sec mp3, we are tryning to do a soundboard. so if you hit all the buttons it sounds a bit bad.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
05/30/11 02:47 AM (12 years ago)
Yeah, not sure what your best approach will be. 6-10 seconds is a bit long for a sound effect like @Ian (above) was using. Maybe add them to the sound effects array in the delegate.m so they are loaded when the app loads. You may have already done this. If they are loaded as sound effects this [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; should work. If it doesn't, I have no idea what to recommend?
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
05/30/11 08:58 AM (12 years ago)
But where do I put the code [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; in under appDelegate.m or buttonmenu??
 
erichopf
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 316
Reg: Mar 14, 2011
NY, NY
3,460
like
06/13/11 10:44 AM (12 years ago)
For anyone just wanting to do a simple soundboard, try AppsBar. It's in Beta and a lot less customizable then BT but will be simple to make for iOS and Andy.
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
06/13/11 11:52 AM (12 years ago)
Hi erichopf. Nice link, but I love BT so and I can't let them down ! ;) I'm pretty happy with our soundboard app that we have made with bt. http://itunes.apple.com/se/app/grannen-i-beck/id441216262?mt=8
 
erichopf
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 316
Reg: Mar 14, 2011
NY, NY
3,460
like
06/13/11 12:21 PM (12 years ago)
The soundboard looks good. More of the reason I posted an alternative method, is that there are a lot of hobbiest who are using BT but do not have a good understanding of code and just want something simple that just works. That site is for them, stipped down, easy peasy lemon squeezie.
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
06/13/11 10:03 PM (12 years ago)
@ Mackimack: Your allegiance is awesome and we appreciate it. However, plz don't feel like you can't explore alternatives sometimes, don't want you to think we've got you held hostage. Funny ;-)
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
06/23/11 01:06 AM (12 years ago)
Hi Dave, wondering if possible to have buttons play sound effects for just one screen so other button menus can still load other screens? thanks!!
 
David @ buzztouch
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 6866
Reg: Jan 01, 2010
Monterey, CA
78,840
like
06/23/11 03:31 AM (12 years ago)
Ah... you'll need to figure out 'what screen you're on' to do a little if-then-else kinda thing. psuedo code: If the screen guid = 8asd8fasdf8a8df then do this... else...do this You'll need to figure out the screen at run-time in whatever method your using to fire the buttons. Probably in the menuItemTap method in BT_screen_menuButtons.m To figure out what screen you're on, use: if([[self.screenData itemId] isEqualToString:@my screen id]){ do something.... }else{ do somethign else... } To get the screen id, load that screen in your control panel then look at the URL in your address bar. screenGuid=345345345345 The part past the screenGuid and before the next & is the screen's unique id and you'll see it in the BT_config.txt file too.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
06/23/11 03:10 PM (12 years ago)
Wonder if it's possible to do 'if else' statement in the launch screen method we already changed the code in? Been playing around with your above suggestion and not working yet..car troubles getting the way of my computer time!! replacing timing belt and distributor for next 2 days...woohoo!
 
Sylversurfer
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 12
Reg: Jun 13, 2011
Hong Kong
1,870
like
06/24/11 09:35 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David, newbie here, I'm not sure what I'm getting myself into but worth a try May I ask also for the code that you sent to @Ian on May 12? where you write Replace the launchScreen method in our BT_screen_menuButtons.m file with the method in the file I sent. I'm trying to build a simple, single screen, button-activated series of voice files Thanks in advance for your help!
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
06/24/11 10:14 AM (12 years ago)
Hi Sylversurfer, if you'd like to email I will send you the code and details... [email protected]. Ian Email sent.. Post back here if you hav e more questions. Would love to be able to select individual screens for this
 
Ultimate Teacher
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 9
Reg: Jul 16, 2011
Sunshine Coast ...
90
like
08/26/11 09:51 PM (12 years ago)
Hi Ian, mate: thanks a million for helping me with this! Sending me the code, then stepping it out for me made this possible. Goes to show why this BT forum is really the pick of the bunch when it come to total newbies like me making cool apps. Thanks again from Australia, Matt
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
08/29/11 06:09 PM (12 years ago)
If anyone needs help with having menu buttons as a sound board and at the same time other menu button screens IN THE SAME APP used to load screens not just play sounds let me know...this is for v1.5 ios...hoping to figure out same thing once android v1.5 comes out...cheers!!
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
08/31/11 05:19 AM (12 years ago)
Hi David, still playing around with how to make a menu button sound effect stop playing when another button is pushed...the suggestion to see if adding this if(appDelegate.audioPlayer != nil){ [appDelegate.audioPlayer stopAudio]; } right before the play sound method in your button click helps. doesn't seem to work? i have been messing around with the [tmpPlayer play] lines of code in the -(void)playSoundEffect:(NSString *)theFileName method that's getting called from BT_screen_menuButtons.m but still don't have the solution...any other ideas or tricks? i know ur swamped especially with android v1.5 coming (EXCITED!!) but if you can find the time would love to finally resolve this...i get quite a few emails for the code to make the menu buttons into a soundboard then everyone wants to know how to stop the sound when hitting another button...thanks again and again!!
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
09/12/11 06:43 AM (12 years ago)
Hi Ianjamespiano. Do you have a solution to have a menu buttons as soundboard, and another regular menu buttons?
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
09/12/11 08:01 AM (12 years ago)
Hi Mackimack, email me at [email protected] and I will email the code
 
Mackimack
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 481
Reg: Dec 30, 2010
Sweden
14,310
like
09/12/11 08:05 AM (12 years ago)
You got mail! :)
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
09/12/11 09:55 AM (12 years ago)
U got mail! Let me know how it works out...cheers!! :)
 
Alejandra
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 71
Reg: Oct 05, 2011
Miami
710
like
11/19/11 04:10 PM (12 years ago)
Hi Ianjamespiano, Is there a chance you can email me the code at misacatolica [at] gmail[dot]com ? Thanks a lot M.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
11/19/11 04:24 PM (12 years ago)
HI Alejandra, u got mail :)
 
Alejandra
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 71
Reg: Oct 05, 2011
Miami
710
like
11/19/11 04:28 PM (12 years ago)
Thanks a lot ianjamespiano
 
iPing
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 27
Reg: Dec 07, 2011
Teramo
1,520
like
01/02/12 09:17 AM (12 years ago)
mmm... I've added pop.mp3 as sound for each tab, but it's not working anymore. myappname_appDelegate: playSoundInBundle:ERROR. This sound effect is not included in the list of available sounds: pop.mp3
 
broomla
I hate code!
Profile
Posts: 61
Reg: Oct 31, 2011
Prague
610
like
01/05/12 07:58 AM (12 years ago)
is there a way to make the same thing (to stay on the screen) from Menu-list?
 
mysps
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2082
Reg: May 14, 2011
Palma
33,320
like
01/13/12 07:52 PM (12 years ago)
HI ian, do you think you could drop me the code? I sent you an email today! thanks
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
01/13/12 08:07 PM (12 years ago)
@mysps, u got mail :)
 
mysps
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2082
Reg: May 14, 2011
Palma
33,320
like
01/13/12 08:19 PM (12 years ago)
thank you very much!
 
javooooo
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 719
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Sydney, Austral...
18,490
like
01/19/12 04:54 PM (12 years ago)
Hey Ian, I'm sure you must get annoyed by so many people asking you, but could you shoot the code through to me too? jta.aus (at) gmail.com. Cheers mate.
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
01/19/12 05:59 PM (12 years ago)
U got mail javooooo :)
 
javooooo
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 719
Reg: Jun 17, 2011
Sydney, Austral...
18,490
like
01/19/12 06:19 PM (12 years ago)
aha, thanks :)
 
mitchellapps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 170
Reg: Aug 15, 2011
St. Louis
4,300
like
01/28/12 01:25 PM (12 years ago)
Hey @ianjamespiano, hope to not annoy you but could I get the code also? :) [email protected]
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
01/28/12 02:44 PM (12 years ago)
mail sent @mitchellapps :)
 
mitchellapps
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 170
Reg: Aug 15, 2011
St. Louis
4,300
like
01/28/12 02:50 PM (12 years ago)
Thanks!
 
D_Rock
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 20
Reg: Jul 23, 2011
Chiang Mai, Tha...
2,350
like
03/09/12 11:47 PM (12 years ago)
Hey Ian. I would love to have that code for android. I have button menus that I use to go to other screens and would love one button menu to only play sound effects.
 
Rad Doc
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 653
Reg: Oct 08, 2010
USA, NYC
8,580
like
04/17/12 08:59 AM (12 years ago)
Hey all, Can someone please share the code to implement? Thanks AM
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/18/12 01:55 PM (12 years ago)
Hey Rad Doc check mail :)
 
ATRAIN53
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1755
Reg: Nov 17, 2011
Chicago
26,450
like
04/25/12 09:27 AM (12 years ago)
i would also like to see this code if someone has it handy? skompdev @ skomp.net thanks in advance
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/25/12 09:44 AM (12 years ago)
U got mail :)
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
04/26/12 11:59 AM (12 years ago)
Please send me the code also! Working on a soundboard app. mattleonard1234 @ gmail.com
 
ianJamesPiano
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 2661
Reg: Feb 13, 2011
Palm Springs, C...
37,010
like
04/26/12 01:19 PM (12 years ago)
Now that the forum supports quotation marks here it is...Info on how to implement is throughout this forum post:) //launch screen -(void)launchScreen:(BT_item *)theMenuItem{ //appDelegate YOURAPPDELEGATENAME *appDelegate = (YOURAPPDELEGATENAME *)[[UIApplication sharedApplication] delegate]; if([[BT_strings getJsonPropertyValue:theMenuItem.jsonVars:@"soundEffectFileName":@""] length] > 3){ [appDelegate playSoundEffect:[BT_strings getJsonPropertyValue:theMenuItem.jsonVars:@"soundEffectFileName":@""]]; } /* IGNORING THIS BECAUSE WE DON'T WANT TO LOAD A SCREEN //get the itemId of the screen to load NSString *loadScreenItemId = [BT_strings getJsonPropertyValue:theMenuItem.jsonVars:@"loadScreenWithItemId":@"0"]; //use the id of the screen we want to load to get it's data object from the app BT_item *screenObjectToLoad = [appDelegate.rootApp getScreenDataByItemId:loadScreenItemId]; //BT_viewControllerManager will launch the next screen [BT_viewControllerManager handleTapToLoadScreen:[self screenData]:theMenuItem:screenObjectToLoad]; */ }
 
mleonard
Apple Fan
Profile
Posts: 124
Reg: Nov 01, 2011
Conway,AR
1,940
like
05/02/12 05:19 PM (12 years ago)
Working great! Thanks so much! Anyone have an idea on how I could get the sound file to play on every press of the button instead of having to wait for the audio to finish playing? Basically, i'd like to be able to tap a "sound effect" repeatedly and have it make the sound on each press. As of now, it doesn't do this. Open to any suggestions! Thanks guys!
 
SheriDee
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 1094
Reg: Sep 23, 2011
location unknow...
22,840
like
05/12/12 07:24 PM (11 years ago)
I have found that with shorter sounds this works great! This works amazing on BT 1.5!!! Awesome! I have been able to almost complete an app that I was quoted $1500.00 to make. (Simple communication app) Thanks so much!
 
Fred@mySkylla com
Android Fan
Profile
Posts: 5259
Reg: Oct 03, 2011
location unknow...
62,560
like
05/18/12 05:45 PM (11 years ago)
Is it possible to extend this to individual buttons? Fred
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.