Discussion Forums  >  Config Data, JSON, App Refresh

Replies: 8    Views: 295

Adam
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 247
Reg: Oct 23, 2010
Southern Califo...
4,470
08/03/13 06:07 PM (10 years ago)

How to have App refresh automatically every time?

Is there any possible way to have my app refresh every time, even though there is not any changes in the app's control panel? I need this because the only way to get the full screen ad to pop up on my home screen is when the app refreshes. I already have auto refresh on, but it only refreshes when I make a change in the app's control panel.
 
Calypso Kid
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 780
Reg: Mar 09, 2012
Upstate New Yor...
18,200
like
08/03/13 06:53 PM (10 years ago)
ios or android. here is the link for ios https://www.buzztouch.com/files/howtos/AutomaticRefresh.pdf Dave
 
Adam
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 247
Reg: Oct 23, 2010
Southern Califo...
4,470
like
08/03/13 07:44 PM (10 years ago)
I did that, but it only refreshes when you make a change to the app. I want it to refresh every time even if their is no update to the app.
 
SmugWimp
Smugger than thou...
Profile
Posts: 6316
Reg: Nov 07, 2012
Tamuning, GU
81,410
like
08/03/13 09:40 PM (10 years ago)
The AutoRefresh from Annandale 'should' be satisfactory, but yes, it only automatically updates when there is something to update. I don't know 'how much longer' this will be valid for Android, but placing: refreshAppData(); in a strategic part of your app, for example, towards the end of the 'OnStart' method of your BT_activity.java file should do the trick. With respect to Xcode, You can tell it to: [self downloadAppData]; After it does that, it will populate throughout the app, as if you hit the refresh button. Put it somewhere relative as well... perhaps at the end of "applicationDidBecomeActive" in the xxxx_appDelegate.m file You may have to play around with these; placements are a guess, although those should be the correct methods. Cheers! -- Smug
 
Adam
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 247
Reg: Oct 23, 2010
Southern Califo...
4,470
like
08/03/13 09:44 PM (10 years ago)
@SmugWimp This is an iOS app. I need to find out a way to auto refresh when the app opens every time, even if there are changes or not? Do you think it is possible?
 
Adam
Aspiring developer
Profile
Posts: 247
Reg: Oct 23, 2010
Southern Califo...
4,470
like
08/03/13 09:49 PM (10 years ago)
@SmugWimp It works the code you gave me! So helpful! Thanks, Adam
 
chris1
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 3862
Reg: Aug 10, 2012
Austin, TX
50,120
like
08/03/13 10:14 PM (10 years ago)
Love it when logic works the same between iOS and Android!
 
bfoutty
Code is Art
Profile
Posts: 185
Reg: Jun 12, 2011
Youngstown, OH
12,650
like
01/05/14 11:39 AM (10 years ago)
I am updating my app with BT v3.0 core and I still want to automatic app refresh that Thomas Boyd wrote about. We now have to update the code for the 3.0 core. The BT 1.5 and 2.0 core code changes of [modifiedAlert show] to [self downloadAppData] now needs to be changed on line 423 from [modifiedAlert show] to [self refreshAppData] It is working for me. Let me know if anyone sees a problem with this. Thanks.
 
shak77
buzztouch Evangelist
Profile
Posts: 399
Reg: Jan 18, 2011
location unknow...
7,240
like
01/05/14 11:42 AM (10 years ago)
I was just going to ask about this today. Thanks for the solution, @bfoutty. That seems to work for me so far. David
 

Login + Screen Name Required to Post

pointerLogin to participate so you can start earning points. Once you're logged in (and have a screen name entered in your profile), you can subscribe to topics, follow users, and start learning how to make apps like the pros.